27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me

24 Jan 2022 // A review by Chris Chick

It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities. To bring many different genres of music together and pull it off with surprisingly amazing results is something to be extremely proud of, and low and behold, I think Trip Change have just gone and done it.

This song is so good on so many levels, I could just leave it like that and trust that you will go out of your way to listen to it, but that is not why I am paid the big bucks (That statement was false, I get paid with hugs and kind words) When I first played this song, the cute intro really had wondering where this song was going to go, I like that, I felt like I was Dungeons and Dragons again. When the melodic ska beat and deep bass line hit my listeners, I was ready for a good head bobbing, you cannot help it, it is like watching Leo Messi pick up the ball from the halfway line and start running at defenders, the magic is about to happen. Being in Aotearoa I feel my analogy of an Argentinian Footballer does no justice, so imagine an in form Beauden Barrett gliding through an Australian defence.

This song sounds better and better the more I listen to it, especially when the sun is breaking through the clouds after a heavy rainfall. The changes of sound are seamless throughout the song with a Latin inspired number coming in at the end just to remind your hips that there is a lot of moving still to come. Music should have the ability to change your mood, and this does a cracking job of doing that, I cannot imagine anyone listening to this and not smiling at the end. I have created a point system based on songs I review; on subjects I think are important.

Hip Shaking – 9 out of 10 without a doubt, I almost had to call the emergency services in for a full hip replacement.

Buy Grandma a Copy? – 8 out of 10, she always loved a good heart-warming love story about that courting stage.

Party Starter – 8 out of 10, I would not be afraid of putting this song on during a party of people I did not know, and if they complained? Shame on them.

Great song, great vibes and very excited to hear the album. Taranaki just keeps pumping out good bands, it must be the water, or lack of, who knows. Get this song and give as much loves as you can to this band, just simply awesome.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Trip Change

Trip Change is an originals band from Taranaki bringing you tasty organic sounds from the soul. Join us on this party to purify the soul; journey through sound, light and groove freshly distilled from Maunga Taranaki to the sea, and everywhere in between.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Trip Change

Releases

There are no releases to display for Trip Change.

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem