27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Gig Review: Come Together: The Rolling Stones' Sticky Fingers @ Civic Theatre, Auckland - 21/01/2022

Gig Review: Come Together: The Rolling Stones' Sticky Fingers @ Civic Theatre, Auckland - 21/01/2022

23 Jan 2022 // A review by Roger Bowie

Oh man, what a funny old time. Here we are on the brink of climate catastrophe, and another Covid wave which threatens to lock us down if not out, and yet over the past 3 months we have been able to reflect on and enjoy the two song writing partnerships which have arguably defined modern rock. It’s like, so what? There is salvation in looking back, even though we should look up and forward but not down. Walking backwards into the future. Some wise kaumatua said that (but not Bob Dylan).

Music is what touches us from a distance, and, if we access it wisely and always, insulates and immunises us from life’s traumas. Therefore, it is to be greedily consumed, as if life itself depends on it, and so here we are.

Peter Jackson recently brought us 8 bours of unparalleled access to the magic of Lennon/McCartney, even when tired (not forgetting George). And tonight, Simone Williams and Jol Mulholland bring us the magic of Jagger/Richards (not forgetting Charlie and Brian) as we sit down with sticky fingers (where have they been? Did you wash your hands?).

And so here we are, a homage to the Rolling Stones and one of (if not) the greatest albums of their extensive discography, Sticky Fingers, 1971, post Brian, two Micks, Gram Parson influence in the background, The Beatles are no more, less risk, more options, open slather, free hand. And the third of a trilogy which defined The Rolling Stones as more than just a covers band, more than just a blues band, more than Brian who was tragically lost, and more than something which would take its course and soon expire. Of course, we know that now, but we didn’t know then, how much that trilogy of Beggars Banquet, Let It Bleed and Sticky Fingers would help define the future of rock, and many of our lives.

Omicron is attacking our artificial borders, there is no moat, it’s a futile effort to buy time already wasted. This could be the last time, it may the last time, I don’t know.

My mate Steven asked me (not understanding the format), who is playing Mick Jagger tonight? Everyone, I reply, but no-one is betting against Jon Toogood opening the batting.

Brown Sugar, Marsha Hunt, slave girl, heroin, how come you taste so good, typically ambiguous introduction to the context of the 70’s. But what an opening song.

Now, let’s articulate the tonight context: Brett Adams, Jol Mulholland, Mike Hall, Matthias Jordan, Finn Scholes, Nick Atkinson, Karen Hu, play the instruments and sometimes sing. Jon Toogood, Luke Buda, Lou’ana, Sam Flynn Scott, Deva Mahal add vocals and sometimes play. What? How does this eclectic group of stars come together? Because they can, because Simone says, because they love it, and thus we have a selection of New Zealand’s finest putting their individual identities aside to come together in homage to the greatest albums of our time.

It's just great joy. And we know the format. Brown Sugar tells us that Sticky Fingers is going to be played straight through, and then the band will just play Stones. And the songs will have different players, and different singers. It’s a team game. It’s a game of love and respect.

You know, who ever said Mick Jagger was a great singer? A good singer, yes, but in the context of Dylan and Cohen. But not a great singer, in the context of McCartney and Mercury and (Jim) Morrison. But here we are tonight seeing a bunch of our finest vocalists (and I hesitate to use the word struggling, but yes, in the tiniest of moments it is a struggle) interpret Mick Jagger, trying to put the Mickey into their larynx, but it is for the most part an interpretation. There are key exceptions. Deva Mahal on the old blues number You Gotta Move takes me way past Mick to my other benchmark, which is Parker Millsap from his 2016 album, which chisels your spine. Deva gets close. And Brett Adams just kills us on Wild Horses and Sister Morphine. Luke Buda does a great campy version of the itinerant soapbox evangelist chasing the girl with the Far Away Eyes (reminding me of the bishop in the not so far away gaol). And Lou’ana brings Billie Holiday to I Got The Blues. And finally, Deva, in the last song, Gimme Shelter, would make Lisa Fisher proud. But that’s not my point. There are no bad singers here tonight. Mick Jagger is a great singer. I said that. And tonight, we know why.

Jon Toogood warms up as the night goes on. But he has the moves like Jagger. Bitch, Start Me Up and Jumping Jack Flash were written for him. He really nails it on Street Fighting Man. Sam Scott and Luke Buda share a bunch of songs like Dead Flowers (who sends dead flowers by the US mail, why not a dead possum?) and She’s A Rainbow. Lou’ana is pristine on Angie and super on You got the Blues, but supreme on Honky Tonk Woman, blowing her nose before blowing your mind. Luke does Miss You in great glamp. Deva gives us Satisfaction and Sympathy. Finn Scholes leaps forward to Paint it Black. Sam Scott gets a little worried about singing Let It Bleed, reflecting on how much the early Rolling Stones lyrics were “gisms.” Ah yes, but if you want to be revisionist and change history with words, or because of words, fill yer boots. You can’t rewrite context. And for me the context is that these songs were simply the soundtrack of my youth.

The band are just awesome. Nicole Amesha Bowie (aged 13) who doesn’t like the Rolling Stones, nudges me several times to say: “Dad, I know that song”. Especially when, in the second half, Matthias Jordan keys up She’s A Rainbow. That’s a big song on Tik Tok. And when the band finish up the extensive outro to Can’t You Hear Me Knocking (which is my favourite cut on the album, and causes man tears to well), Nicole nudges me, “Dad, that was really good.” But the best moment between us was when she says “Dad, is Mick Jagger in the Rolling Stones? There’s a great song about him……” Nicole comes of Stone age tonight.

Ah yes, Brett and Jol duel between Mick Taylor and Keith, Mike Hall is just the epitome of a statuesque Bill Wyman, Nick Atkinson is all Bobby Keys and Matthias Jordan is Hopkins and Stewart and Preston as well as singing a fitting tribute at the end of the first set, once the album is finished, with a song originally written for Brian, but now dedicated to the recently demised Charlie Watts, Shine a Light. Animations appear, little etchings of the men themselves.

Charlie played drums; did you know that? Let me ask you, how often (if you are not a drummer) have you listened to the drumming on Rolling Stones songs? If you are like me, probably not often. Charlie was a jazz drummer. He played nuance, not flair. But he played anchor, and it’s only when you focus do you realise how much of a leader Charlie was from behind. Take Charlie out of the mix, and Mick, and Keef, and Bill, and Mick (Taylor) are just flounders on a beach.

Hey, then how about Karen Hu? She’s on drums tonight, and you don’t take much notice unless you concentrate, mainly at the very end (Gimme Shelter) which is when you go, fuck, this girl is doing Charlie proud. Beat for beat. Anchor. No fuss, no flair. Solid. Hey Mick, if you are having problems with Steve Jordan, I’ll put you in touch with Karen. She’s on LinkedIn.

The songs tonight are anchored in the Trilogy, with a jump back to earlier singles as well as Satanic Majesties Request, and a leap forward to Exile and Some Girls, but no Time Waits For No-one, because it doesn’t, and because You Can’t Always Get Want You Want.

What have I missed? Who have I missed? Ah yes, perhaps the most diversely talented musician on stage. In Simone Williams’ own words, the genius that is Finn Scholes. Percussion, trumpet, voice and all the little pictures on the screen. I kid you not.

What a night for young and old. I’ve run out of superlatives. My well is dry. Wealth and taste. Thank you, Jesus.


Photo Credit: Chris Zwaagdyk @ ZED Pics

 

Other Reviews By Roger Bowie

Samuel Philip Cooper - Single Review: Forever Loved
12 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Somewhere, over the rainbow, Samuel Philip Cooper’s Nana is still sitting in her favourite chair, a grey-haired old lady with a hint of a smile enjoying the late afternoon sun dappling into her garden. In reality Samuel’s Nana passed away during lockdown and he never got to say goodbye.
Read More...
Album Review: Tess Liautaud
12 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Oh, the people of Christchurch have got music and soul everywhere, and yet another singer/songwriter emerges with an astonishingly mature debut and an international pedigree. Tess Liautaud is French, American and now Kiwi.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tablefox @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 06/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
It’s New Zealand Music Month and here we all are at Anthology Lounge for the much awaited and much postponed Tablefox new album launch for Battles. It’s been a right old battle getting the new album out and played live, and this gig was originally scheduled for last August.
Read More...
Davey Beige - EP Review: Rise Above
05 May 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Davey Beige comes straight out of the blocks on his new EP Rise Above. 80 In A 50km Zone is just what it implies, we’re off and running at almost top speed, even though “Life goes way too fast”.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jackie Bristow @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 28/04/2022
30 Apr 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Jackie Bristow brought her new album Outsider to Anthology Lounge in Auckland on Thursday night, inside it’s warm and intimate and the seats are out. We’re still getting used to an almost post-Covid world but enough brave souls have come out to make this a proper gig and to experience the little things which make live music so special.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Album Review: Man on Mars
11 Apr 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Tony Lee is a Man on Mars. With a “here we go” Tony Lee’s band launch into a hootenanny rocking billy of an opening song which reminds me of the kind of frantic rhythm you might see and hear at Roberts Western World of a night, any night, on Broadway in Nashville.
Read More...
Album Review: Jamie McDell
04 Mar 2022 // by Roger Bowie
What a year it has been for Kiwis in Nashville. Just last month we had Cy Winstanley from Tattletale Saints pass through (on holiday), South for Winter play a few cameo gigs supporting the release of their great little record Luxumbra, and then Jackie Bristow releases her 5th album, recorded in Nashville, while she stayed locked down here in New Zealand.
Read More...
Jackie Bristow - Album Review: Outsider
03 Mar 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Jackie Bristow has travelled a long, rough-hewn road. It’s nearly seven years since her last album, the gentle and sweet Shot of Gold.
Read More...
View All Articles By Roger Bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem