10 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution

11 Jan 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release? Luckily, I have always worked on honesty is the best policy and try to write in a manner which is constructive as opposed to destructive, but I needn’t have worried in any case as the first time I played this five-track set I knew we were onto yet another good ‘un. I said it last time, but it is worth mentioning again, but this Wanaka-based group is stupidly young with three of them 16 years of age and one of them just 14! None of them look old enough to shave, yet somehow, they are bringing together melodic hooks and rock in a manner which far belies their young age.

There is a naïve Shihad approach to their music, something that is incredibly endearing which grabs the listener’s attention from the off.  They lead with the single Take It Or Leave It, which brings in elements of Pearl Jam and Nirvana, loads of energy and space within the arrangement and an almost tribal drum pattern keeping everything tight. Any concerns I may have had of them having just one good song and approach was soon removed when they started the delicate Haunted, where the picked guitars and dominant bass support the vocals in the introduction, with the drums only coming in when the song really gets going. They combine pop sensibilities and melodies with rock and grunge to create something which is just damn fun to listen to and turn it up to the max. There is the impression that they are a fun band to go and see live, as there is a connected energy between them which only comes from playing in that environment as opposed to just a studio act. Singing It Off has far more classic 70’s rock influences and is one of the highlights of the EP, and one just keeps wondering if they are doing this now, just what are they going to sound like when they are old enough to buy me a beer?

They are going to be playing as part of the Bay Rock 2022 Festival next month, and if you are planning to go just to see the headliners, I suggest you get there early and ensure you catch the other bands as well as the swagger within these five songs are guaranteed to make you smile.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Powder Chutes

Powder Chutes are Archie Orbell, Clarke West, Henry McConnell & Otis Murphy, garage rock miscreants with an impressive work ethic, and an unmistakable groove.

From Wanaka, New Zealand, they are a tight young four piece delivering a heady mix of thunderous stage-ready, riff-laden originals, and carefully considered covers. With none of them over 16, Powder Chutes bring a freshness to guitar driven music that combines youthful exuberance with sweat-soaked vintage grunt. 

The boys are coming out blazing with their first self-funded Sweet Noise Pollution EP, recorded in 3 days of sonic genius at the incredible Studio Sublime (of Reb Fountain fame) in mid 2021 . With artwork by Jersey born Producer, DJ, pro-snowboarder, skateboarder, graffiti artist, and travel blogger Scott Nixon, the EP drops soon on all major platforms.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Powder Chutes

Releases

Sweet Noise Pollution
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Thinking Foxes - Single Review: Bleached
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Thinking Foxes are an Auckland-based alternative rock trio who are new to me, comprising Gabriel Parkins Craig (vocals, guitar), Luca Garcia Ferrari (bass), and Noah Page (drums). Bleached is their debut single and based on this I am somewhat surprised to have not seen them on the circuit, or even come across their name, as this is polished and full of confidence and never sounds as if it is their first release.
Read More...
James Kohler - Single Review: Lights Out
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As a rule, I read press releases after I have been listening to the music, but as well as Lisa sending me this to review, I was also sent it today by the PR company and I read that email before I realised it was on my list. However, my interest was already piqued as James Kohler is described as an “independent prog artist”.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - Single Review: War Cry
05 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Given the age of these guys, it is somewhat difficult to realise that this line-up has been together since 2009 when Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals) joined forces with Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums). In 2021 they released the excellent Deceit EP, and here at the end of 2022 they are back with their latest single, War Cry which has just blown me away.
Read More...
Gig Review: LIIT @ Morningside 605, Auckland - 3/12/2022
04 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often I can say I am at a venue for the first time, but this is indeed the first time I have attended the small but perfectly formed venue which is Morningside 605. I had made my way over to this side of Auckland, and had to park miles away due to Billy Joel playing at Eden Park on the same night, to catch the infamous LIIT and have a party.
Read More...
KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem