28 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution

11 Jan 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release? Luckily, I have always worked on honesty is the best policy and try to write in a manner which is constructive as opposed to destructive, but I needn’t have worried in any case as the first time I played this five-track set I knew we were onto yet another good ‘un. I said it last time, but it is worth mentioning again, but this Wanaka-based group is stupidly young with three of them 16 years of age and one of them just 14! None of them look old enough to shave, yet somehow, they are bringing together melodic hooks and rock in a manner which far belies their young age.

There is a naïve Shihad approach to their music, something that is incredibly endearing which grabs the listener’s attention from the off.  They lead with the single Take It Or Leave It, which brings in elements of Pearl Jam and Nirvana, loads of energy and space within the arrangement and an almost tribal drum pattern keeping everything tight. Any concerns I may have had of them having just one good song and approach was soon removed when they started the delicate Haunted, where the picked guitars and dominant bass support the vocals in the introduction, with the drums only coming in when the song really gets going. They combine pop sensibilities and melodies with rock and grunge to create something which is just damn fun to listen to and turn it up to the max. There is the impression that they are a fun band to go and see live, as there is a connected energy between them which only comes from playing in that environment as opposed to just a studio act. Singing It Off has far more classic 70’s rock influences and is one of the highlights of the EP, and one just keeps wondering if they are doing this now, just what are they going to sound like when they are old enough to buy me a beer?

They are going to be playing as part of the Bay Rock 2022 Festival next month, and if you are planning to go just to see the headliners, I suggest you get there early and ensure you catch the other bands as well as the swagger within these five songs are guaranteed to make you smile.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Powder Chutes

Powder Chutes are Archie Orbell, Clarke West, Henry McConnell & Otis Murphy, garage rock miscreants with an impressive work ethic, and an unmistakable groove.

From Wanaka, New Zealand, they are a tight young four piece delivering a heady mix of thunderous stage-ready, riff-laden originals, and carefully considered covers. With none of them over 16, Powder Chutes bring a freshness to guitar driven music that combines youthful exuberance with sweat-soaked vintage grunt. 

The boys are coming out blazing with their first self-funded Sweet Noise Pollution EP, recorded in 3 days of sonic genius at the incredible Studio Sublime (of Reb Fountain fame) in mid 2021 . With artwork by Jersey born Producer, DJ, pro-snowboarder, skateboarder, graffiti artist, and travel blogger Scott Nixon, the EP drops soon on all major platforms.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Powder Chutes

Releases

Sweet Noise Pollution
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery
27 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside.
Read More...
Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem