3 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser

11 Jan 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.net.nz/articles/reviews/92933/kevs-top-10s-2021). Sat inside my Top 10 for EP’s there is Tall Folk with their debut release, Live From Martin’s, and here I am with my first album review of 2022 thinking there is a high chance that this could be within my Top 10 albums at the end of the year.

Dunedin-based duo Lara Robertson and Jack Ringhand have a wonderful sense of humour, saying that Lara is from a long line of long legs while Jack is an extension of generations of long necks, hence the name. Jack is an American import, and he brings with him the Americana style while Lara is a veteran of the Dunedin folk scene and together they link and bring together the two different genres into a new whole. They are both confident singers, both happy to provide lead or harmony as the need arises, with Lara being soft and Jack with a gravelly lived-in voice which one can imagine being a highlight of the bluegrass scene.

Some of their songs are more folk-led, others strongly country, and often there are just the voices and acoustic guitars, with opener Empire a fine example of their delicious harmonies, where a plaintive fiddle provides a wonderful counterpoint. The song is laid back, demanding to be played on headphones so the listener can fall into their world, as the double bass provides just a hint of depth. The arrangements are incredibly powerful throughout the album, as they fully understand that percussion can add, but also detract, so they only use it when it makes total sense. The same is true of the steel, which is poignant and crying when it is used yet never overstays its welcome.

It is an incredibly mature album, one that certainly does not sound like a debut, as there is real confidence about all they are doing. While the topic for Dani may be like the story told in Jolene, musically it is as if they are from a different universe as there is nothing upbeat about this one, as Lara is almost begging for Dani to leave her man alone. I fell in love with this album the very first time I played it and anyone who enjoys Americana will do very well indeed to seek this out.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Tall Folk

Lara is from a long line of long legs. Jack is an extension of generations of long necks. Together, with their long limbs and swirling harmonies, they are Tall Folk. As an US-American import, Jack brings song-writing and Midwestern twang hardened in Americana tradition. Lara softens and juxtaposes the raspy edges with warm, resonant harmonies established through years embedded in the Dunedin folk scene.

On June 25, 2021, they released their debut EP recorded in a Catlins’ bach with the assistance of Dunedin rocker Michael Morris, followed by a short tour of Otago and Southland. Keeping the wheels a-turnin’ on the rail, they aim to release their full length debut album recorded by Tom Bell (Marlin’s Dreaming) at the beloved Chick's Hotel in Port Chalmers on January 14, 2022.

From the comparatively upper stratospheres of human heights, Tall Folk write from a bird’s eye view of political and social turmoil, lined with remnants of the goodness that keeps us all moving. Think a Guthrie-inspired young Prine laced with the grace of Gillian Welch. Just a bit taller.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tall Folk

Releases

Wiser
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Live From Martin's
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem