28 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop

06 Jan 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced. One of the songs contained here, Too Much Touch, recently got a 5* on MNNZ from Adrian Drew of Investigator, a songwriter I enjoy listening to immensely, but it just goes to show how it is possible to put two people in a room, have them listen to the same piece of music, and get three different opinions. 

All the songs follow the same format in that the concentration is on the vocals, with everyone else playing a supporting role, but to me they all stick in first gear with just a few incidents of moving into second, let alone going the whole hog and engaging the turbo boost. I kept expecting each song to lift and take us in a new direction with loads of energy, but it never materialised, with the result being that I had the impression that here was a band who play well together and provide solid well-constructed material yet there is little in the way of hooks to get me personally invested in what was going on. 

Given that one of the songs contained on the EP was given such a high rating by someone whose own songs I rate highly show that the issue in this case is likely to be more with the listener (i.e. me) than it is with the material itself. We all try to be objective with our opinions, but they are just that, opinions, and they will always be subjective no matter what we do. All I can say is that this is not something to which I will be rapidly returning, but the songs are performed well, the production and mastering is spot on, the vocals solid, and another listener may hear this with very different ears. 

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Pass The Peas

Hailing from Poneke, Pass The Peas are a 5-piece band playing Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll. Their original sound, specialising in ballads and blues, has been compared to international bands like the Arctic Monkeys and the Doors, and Kiwi bands like Racing. You'll be sure to groove along to every song, as this sound makes itself known on across Aotearoa.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pass The Peas

Releases

Strange Favours
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Greek Heat
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery
27 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside.
Read More...
Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem