28 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch

19 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist. When I reviewed the EP, I said it felt as if here was an introvert baring her soul and struggling with the need to put her art out there against the fear of being judged for it. Musically she comes over as a cross between Wesley Willis, Lou Reed, Patti Smith, and Jonathan Richman, with the awkwardness amplified and any polish and finesse buried deep.

I can imagine some people listening to this album and wondering why I am saying nice things about it, as it is diametrically opposed to the style one would hear being played on the radio, but as far as I am concerned that is a very good thing indeed. There is no bass, just a massive gap between her guitar and the drums, with her vocals over the top. There are times when she is sliding all over the note one would expect her to hit, but that is part of the appeal, as this is anti-pop, music which has a soul and honesty all its own. When I reviewed Wesley Willis’ Greatest Hits album, which was released by Alternative Tentacles all the way back in 1995 (I’ve been doing this writing thing for a while) it just blew me away, and I could not put into words why that was, except it was the opposite of everyone else was trying to achieve and that is exactly the same here.

Samantha has been working towards this album for a year now, yet when a song came to her recently, she knew she has to include it, so Chewing Gone To Sound is now the opening track, even though it was only completed a few days ago. If this were the Seventies and Samantha was in New York she would be a regular at CBGB’s, and if it were the late Seventies and she was in the UK she would be signed to Stiff Records. But it is well into the 21st century, and she is in New Zealand, so most people will ignore this and let it pass them by, which is a real shame as there is something in this album which calls to me. At times it is off key, and the guitar playing may not always be as good as one would expect, while the drumming is basic at best. The production and mixing are almost non-existent, yet this is anti-commercial album is all the better for it. If you want music from the heart, with no hidden agenda apart from ripping the artist to pieces, then this is it.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Samantha Josephine

Compared to Lou reed and Courtney Barnett, Samantha Josephine's unique sound has been assembling a group of fans from around the world to watch her perform from her living room. She has been called a style beast, with a voice, that historically speaking not a lot of females have.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Samantha Josephine

Releases

Fly Bird Fly
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Feeling In The Strange
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery
27 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside.
Read More...
Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem