28 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Brent West - Single Review: Run From The Fear

15 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been a couple of years since the last release from South Auckland boy Brent West, but he is now back with his latest single. Run From The Fear is fairly lengthy for a single, at more than 5 minutes, and is packed full of emotion and angst. It is reminiscent in many ways of the early Eighties when U2 and Simple Minds were starting to break out and create songs which were packed full of atmosphere which also brought in a lead guitar line that was strident throughout. Vocally, Brent sings in a melodic but lower register which makes that guitar punch even more, while the arrangement is heavily layered and deliberately coming like a wall of sound out the speakers. The bass is good and rich, while the drums also tie in well, and together they provide the foundation so that one does not notice how little rhythm guitar there is in the rest of the track.

This starts slowly with the lead guitar making its presence felt right from the beginning, but gradually Brent comes in with the vocals, and the band come together. To be honest, I am not sure if this really is a band as Brent is a multi-instrumentalist, but it is quite possible that he has undertaken everything himself, even though it does sound like a group performance. The main issue with this song is that it appears to have been stretched in length and there is quite a bit of repetition. While this may well work in a live environment when the audience are behind it and joining in, in the clinical studio setting it does not manage to maintain its vitality throughout its length and fizzles out at the end instead of finishing with a bang. This would be better if it was edited down, but even as it is this is an interesting listen.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Brent West

It was almost a decade ago that Brent West put his days of metal riffage and hardcore screaming behind him. But now the South Auckland native is re-establishing himself as a singer songwriter who’s playing shows and recording originals.
The husband and father not only plays acoustic and harmonica but also utilizes the ukulele and banjolele (yep that’s a thing!).

Brent’s influences include City and Colour, Neil Young, Cool Hand Luke, Iron and Wine and Johnny Cash. He sings from the heart and creatively crafts songs of life, loss, love and laughter.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Brent West

Releases

Run From The Feat
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Weymouth
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery
27 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside.
Read More...
Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem