10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Brent West - Single Review: Run From The Fear

15 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been a couple of years since the last release from South Auckland boy Brent West, but he is now back with his latest single. Run From The Fear is fairly lengthy for a single, at more than 5 minutes, and is packed full of emotion and angst. It is reminiscent in many ways of the early Eighties when U2 and Simple Minds were starting to break out and create songs which were packed full of atmosphere which also brought in a lead guitar line that was strident throughout. Vocally, Brent sings in a melodic but lower register which makes that guitar punch even more, while the arrangement is heavily layered and deliberately coming like a wall of sound out the speakers. The bass is good and rich, while the drums also tie in well, and together they provide the foundation so that one does not notice how little rhythm guitar there is in the rest of the track.

This starts slowly with the lead guitar making its presence felt right from the beginning, but gradually Brent comes in with the vocals, and the band come together. To be honest, I am not sure if this really is a band as Brent is a multi-instrumentalist, but it is quite possible that he has undertaken everything himself, even though it does sound like a group performance. The main issue with this song is that it appears to have been stretched in length and there is quite a bit of repetition. While this may well work in a live environment when the audience are behind it and joining in, in the clinical studio setting it does not manage to maintain its vitality throughout its length and fizzles out at the end instead of finishing with a bang. This would be better if it was edited down, but even as it is this is an interesting listen.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Brent West

It was almost a decade ago that Brent West put his days of metal riffage and hardcore screaming behind him. But now the South Auckland native is re-establishing himself as a singer songwriter who’s playing shows and recording originals.
The husband and father not only plays acoustic and harmonica but also utilizes the ukulele and banjolele (yep that’s a thing!).

Brent’s influences include City and Colour, Neil Young, Cool Hand Luke, Iron and Wine and Johnny Cash. He sings from the heart and creatively crafts songs of life, loss, love and laughter.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Brent West

Releases

Run From The Fear
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Weymouth
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem