28 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Lights Burn Low

14 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Class, sheer class. When I first heard this a face kept popping into my head as to who this reminded me of, but it took ages for the synapses to snap and finally it came into focus, Richard Marx. This is a song which is incredibly well written and arranged (and from a reviewer’s perspective, it is exceedingly rare to be provided with lyrics for a single), with the focus on the vocals and the arrangement both sparse and delicate, yet supportive and providing the edge where it is needed. Lyrically it is about a night out with a girl you're falling for. It chronicles the night, from getting ready together, the walk into town, moving in and out of bars, dancing and singing to a rock and roll band, and eventually walking her home in the early hours of the morning, and deciding to skip work so that it doesn't have to end. The song captures the nervous excitement of getting to know someone and going out with them in those early days.

It is a delight from start to end, taking us back to the Eighties where the main focus is the vocals, with just a hint of reverb and no other treatment, but with piano as a base and some nice electric guitar when it is needed and percussion that is just right. This is all about that night, which is special for both of them, as they need nothing else apart from each other. It is a classic rock song, with loads of space in the arrangement and the melodic vocals always front and centre. This is a song out of time and place, as this is what was hitting the charts more than 30 years ago and was destroyed by the advent of grunge, yet music as good as this can never die. It has been a year since the last single, let us hope that there is an album due in the near future as this is class, sheer class.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Gabriel Bond

Gabriel Bond is a singer-songwriter with a passion for honest, vulnerable lyricism and melodic acoustic riffs, with a repertoire that blends upbeat anthems with melancholic ballads. Playing guitar and singing since he was five years old, his influences range from artists such as John Mayer, Bruce Springsteen, Maggie Rogers and Ed Sheeran. Gabriel began writing original music in his final year of high school, and followed this by studying a degree in Popular Music at the University of Auckland.

Hailing from the shores of Palm Beach, Waiheke Island, Gabriel has played shows to crowds all over Auckland City, Including headlining shows at venues like the Wine Cellar, and opening for Tiki Taane on Waiheke in 2018.

Over the past few years, Gabriel has been honing his craft and working with many up and coming artists and producers in the NZ music industry. He writes songs based mainly on his own life experiences, with lyrics about leaving home, falling in love and heartbreak.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gabriel Bond

Releases

There are no releases to display for Gabriel Bond.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery
27 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside.
Read More...
Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem