10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Lights Burn Low

14 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Class, sheer class. When I first heard this a face kept popping into my head as to who this reminded me of, but it took ages for the synapses to snap and finally it came into focus, Richard Marx. This is a song which is incredibly well written and arranged (and from a reviewer’s perspective, it is exceedingly rare to be provided with lyrics for a single), with the focus on the vocals and the arrangement both sparse and delicate, yet supportive and providing the edge where it is needed. Lyrically it is about a night out with a girl you're falling for. It chronicles the night, from getting ready together, the walk into town, moving in and out of bars, dancing and singing to a rock and roll band, and eventually walking her home in the early hours of the morning, and deciding to skip work so that it doesn't have to end. The song captures the nervous excitement of getting to know someone and going out with them in those early days.

It is a delight from start to end, taking us back to the Eighties where the main focus is the vocals, with just a hint of reverb and no other treatment, but with piano as a base and some nice electric guitar when it is needed and percussion that is just right. This is all about that night, which is special for both of them, as they need nothing else apart from each other. It is a classic rock song, with loads of space in the arrangement and the melodic vocals always front and centre. This is a song out of time and place, as this is what was hitting the charts more than 30 years ago and was destroyed by the advent of grunge, yet music as good as this can never die. It has been a year since the last single, let us hope that there is an album due in the near future as this is class, sheer class.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Gabriel Bond

Gabriel Bond is a singer-songwriter with a passion for honest, vulnerable lyricism and melodic acoustic riffs, with a repertoire that blends upbeat anthems with melancholic ballads. Playing guitar and singing since he was five years old, his influences range from artists such as John Mayer, Bruce Springsteen, Maggie Rogers and Ed Sheeran. Gabriel began writing original music in his final year of high school, and followed this by studying a degree in Popular Music at the University of Auckland.

Hailing from the shores of Palm Beach, Waiheke Island, Gabriel has played shows to crowds all over Auckland City, Including headlining shows at venues like the Wine Cellar, and opening for Tiki Taane on Waiheke in 2018.

Over the past few years, Gabriel has been honing his craft and working with many up and coming artists and producers in the NZ music industry. He writes songs based mainly on his own life experiences, with lyrics about leaving home, falling in love and heartbreak.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gabriel Bond

Releases

There are no releases to display for Gabriel Bond.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem