2 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Brian Baker - Single Review: Everywhere You Go

13 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Brian Baker left Aotearoa some 40 years ago to find fame and fortune in Australia, and after a successful recording and touring career he has now returned home, setting up a studio and settling in an off-the-grid permaculture farm north of Auckland. His long-time sparring buddy Eddie Rayner (Split Enz, Crowded House) has provided tips and critique on this his new single, but multi-instrumentalist Brian not only produced this, but provided all the instrumentation and vocals. It commences with just some guitars providing the lick, repeating it a few times before allowing Brian to start singing. Right from the off the listener finds themselves with a smile on their face as not only is this a classic blues/country style song, but there is just so much space within the arrangement. Some artists find it necessary to ram instruments and effects into every track, which not only makes it difficult to hear all that is going on, but also removes the space and smothers the music. Music needs room to breathe, and here it is provided in spades, which allows everything to gel and really come alive.

There is a groove here, and when Brian brings in the rhythm section, it accentuates the space and never rushes in to fill it. The bridge is superb, fitting in so well, while that repeated lick keeps returning time and again. This sounds more like a song from an established American artist than someone from our part of the world, and it continues to develop with mass vocals and some wonderfully restrained guitar overlays. It is delicate, refined, and a great example of how a musician can relax into a song and provide some incredible ambience without ever forcing the issue. He plays with both tempo and arrangement, providing wonderful contrast and dynamics which lifts this to another level. Let’s hope it is not too long until the album.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Brian Baker

Brian Baker is a singer-songwriter/producer with a passion for the environment and Buddhism, themes evident in his songs, music, and videos. He plays guitar, bass, piano, and keyboards, drums, and percussion, sings, and relishes his production duties, on his own songs and other artists’ works.

After moving to Australia from New Zealand in 1980, he performed with many Australian bands, securing a Sony recording deal with The Ones in 1986 after signing a publishing deal with Rondor Music. Around this time he scored his first song placement on the second Un Canny X-Men album, What You Give Is What You Get. After writing and recording top 20 single Heart with The Ones he went on to co-write the score for the movie Rikki and Pete with Eddie Rayner from Split Enz.

Eddie and Brian continued to work together as The Makers, releasing 2 CDs through Warner, East West label, including the hit single and video Big Picture. Together with drummer Michael Barker, they toured Australia and New Zealand with the B52's.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Brian Baker

Releases

Open Up Your Heart
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem