20 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kaylee Bell - Album Review: Silver Linings

12 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Kaylee Bell is the most streamed female Country artist from Australasia, with more than 30 million to date, with her recent hit single That Summer breaking the million and being the most added song to mainstream radio in New Zealand in the month of release. That is one of the eight songs on this rather short album, which is less than 25 minutes long with every song being just either side of the three-minute mark with the longest being the title cut at 3:33. She opened for Dixie Chicks when they played  Mission Estate Vineyard, and has sung with Keith Urban so there is no doubt that this Mainlander is moving in high circles within the Country industry and this album shows exactly why.

Each song on this album has been arranged and produced with infinite care, which is both a positive and, for me, a negative. This feels like an American release, not one from this part of the world, and the production is too over the top and it sounds as if it is being aimed very strongly at a certain listener, and I am not the target. I would much rather this had less musicians and singers, less production, and Kaylee being allowed to just perform with a guitar and some reverb on her voice. A decision has been made to aim strongly at the Shania Twain market with Mutt Lange-style production, while Dixie Chicks are another production influence. That this is a strong album is never in doubt, yet I would rather it was longer and that it had not been sanitized quite so much. The songs feel somewhat smothered, and the vitality is never allowed to shine through as it should.

She is a great singer and songwriter, and I am sure that when Kaylee plays live then these songs will be completely different, with much more energy and realism, but while there is no doubt there are many who view this as a highly accomplished release, for me it is an opportunity missed as it is not as great as it could have been.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Kaylee Bell

Kaylee Bell is an artist who has already proven her international appeal having won over fans in her homeland of New Zealand and now doing likewise in Australia. Testament to this is her Gold Guitar - New Zealand’s highest accolade for country music - and her most recent crowning glory as Australia’s 2013 Toyota Star Maker.

Following her experience at the CMAA College of Country Music in 2009, 24-year-old Kaylee, from the little town of Waimate on New Zealand’s South Island, went home and set about making plans to “cross the Ditch” and carve out a career for herself.

In 2011, she did just that and, on completion of a Bachelor in Performing Arts majoring in musical theatre, in Christchurch, packed up her life and headed solo to Australia for the pursuit of success.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kaylee Bell

Releases

Silver Linings
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Heart First
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Wayward
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem