17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Written By Wolves - Single Review: Papercut

09 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt that 2021 has been a hard ride emotionally for Written By Wolves. They went through the process of re-recording tracks from their ‘Secrets’ album and putting them out as The Collab Project//Secrets, baring their soul to get people talking about mental illness. Anyone who has suffered from that terrible disease knows the last thing needed is any more stress, yet they threw themselves into the spotlight for the greater good. The EP has had an incredible response and achieved exactly what it set out to do, getting more people to discuss mental illness as an illness, not a phase, or something that can be cured by someone telling the sufferer to just “cheer up already.”


In this year, of all years, they have surprised their fans by announcing they are releasing a single as a Christmas present. To those who don’t really listen to lyrics or think about music as anything more than ear candy, they will treat this “just” as a cover of a song by one of the band’s largest influences, Linkin Park. It will get played on the radio, people will buy it and thoroughly enjoy it, but let’s just think about it a little more deeply. WBW are a group of incredibly clever and perceptive people, all insanely talented, so why this band, and why this song? This isn’t just a cover, but instead is a direct continuation of what they have been working on all year. It is strange to hear this without the distinctive vocals of Chester Bennington, but as we all know he suffered with mental illness throughout his life and eventually committed suicide, while the lyrics in the first verse cannot be clearer, “Why does it feel like night today? Something in here's not right today, Why am I so uptight today? Paranoia's all I got left I don't know what stressed me first, Or how the pressure was fed, But I know just what it feels like, To have a voice in the back of my head.” This is a song about mental illness, a disease which claimed the life of one of the singers far too young.

Papercut was the first track on Linkin Park’s debut album, Hybrid Theory, the song they chose to announce their presence on the world. That release was huge, and seemingly everywhere when it came out, but it shows just how far music has come in the last 20 years ago, as WBW have taken the base song and turned absolutely everything up. Oli has his work cut out covering all the sounds created originally by Mike Shinoda and Joe Hahn, but he does an amazing job and fills in the spaces so that Karl can hit the kit incredibly hard. It sounds as if he is trying to punch through the drums instead of just creating music; there is a violence and angst in his performance, which is then taken to the next level by Davie and Bahador, who keep it subdued when they need to and rip it up when the time is right. Then of course at the front is Mikey. I am sure there is nothing he cannot do vocally when he puts his mind to it and taking on the roles of both Shinoda and Bennington would be one thing, but lifting it further is just something else.

Before I played this I went back to the original, then listened to some different live versions, but still nothing prepared me for the sheer emotion and passion he delivers. That combined with his band of brothers makes for a real experience, not just a piece of music. I am sure the message portrayed on the EP was just too deep and heavy for some people, but here we see the boys taking something they love, putting their own take on it, and driving that message home in a way which is possibly more subliminal, just wrapped around a sledgehammer. When Hybrid Theory came out it seemed like everyone bought a copy, I certainly did, yet this version is simply more. More power, more realism, more passion, just more everything. If you want to hear a rock band taking something and pushing it beyond the limits, then this is it.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Written By Wolves

Written By Wolves are a fresh and progressive cinematic rock band and one of the most exciting new rock acts to come from New Zealand in recent years.

Having spent the last three years perfecting their sound, live show and building their international fan base, the 5-piece are set for big things with the release of their debut full length album, Secrets.

Renowned for their highly energetic live show, the band have already shared the stage with international heavyweights such as Machine Gun Kelly, Limp Bizkit, Pendulum, Sublime With Rome, Suicidal Tendencies, Hed PE, Falling In Reverse, Escape The Fate, We The Kings, Four Year Strong, Stevie Stone, Kehlani and finished back-to-back tours with two of New Zealand’s biggest Rock bands - Devilskin and Blindspott.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Written By Wolves

Releases

The Collab Project // Secrets
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Secrets
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Prologue
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem