20 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Written By Wolves - Single Review: Papercut

09 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt that 2021 has been a hard ride emotionally for Written By Wolves. They went through the process of re-recording tracks from their ‘Secrets’ album and putting them out as The Collab Project//Secrets, baring their soul to get people talking about mental illness. Anyone who has suffered from that terrible disease knows the last thing needed is any more stress, yet they threw themselves into the spotlight for the greater good. The EP has had an incredible response and achieved exactly what it set out to do, getting more people to discuss mental illness as an illness, not a phase, or something that can be cured by someone telling the sufferer to just “cheer up already.”


In this year, of all years, they have surprised their fans by announcing they are releasing a single as a Christmas present. To those who don’t really listen to lyrics or think about music as anything more than ear candy, they will treat this “just” as a cover of a song by one of the band’s largest influences, Linkin Park. It will get played on the radio, people will buy it and thoroughly enjoy it, but let’s just think about it a little more deeply. WBW are a group of incredibly clever and perceptive people, all insanely talented, so why this band, and why this song? This isn’t just a cover, but instead is a direct continuation of what they have been working on all year. It is strange to hear this without the distinctive vocals of Chester Bennington, but as we all know he suffered with mental illness throughout his life and eventually committed suicide, while the lyrics in the first verse cannot be clearer, “Why does it feel like night today? Something in here's not right today, Why am I so uptight today? Paranoia's all I got left I don't know what stressed me first, Or how the pressure was fed, But I know just what it feels like, To have a voice in the back of my head.” This is a song about mental illness, a disease which claimed the life of one of the singers far too young.

Papercut was the first track on Linkin Park’s debut album, Hybrid Theory, the song they chose to announce their presence on the world. That release was huge, and seemingly everywhere when it came out, but it shows just how far music has come in the last 20 years ago, as WBW have taken the base song and turned absolutely everything up. Oli has his work cut out covering all the sounds created originally by Mike Shinoda and Joe Hahn, but he does an amazing job and fills in the spaces so that Karl can hit the kit incredibly hard. It sounds as if he is trying to punch through the drums instead of just creating music; there is a violence and angst in his performance, which is then taken to the next level by Davie and Bahador, who keep it subdued when they need to and rip it up when the time is right. Then of course at the front is Mikey. I am sure there is nothing he cannot do vocally when he puts his mind to it and taking on the roles of both Shinoda and Bennington would be one thing, but lifting it further is just something else.

Before I played this I went back to the original, then listened to some different live versions, but still nothing prepared me for the sheer emotion and passion he delivers. That combined with his band of brothers makes for a real experience, not just a piece of music. I am sure the message portrayed on the EP was just too deep and heavy for some people, but here we see the boys taking something they love, putting their own take on it, and driving that message home in a way which is possibly more subliminal, just wrapped around a sledgehammer. When Hybrid Theory came out it seemed like everyone bought a copy, I certainly did, yet this version is simply more. More power, more realism, more passion, just more everything. If you want to hear a rock band taking something and pushing it beyond the limits, then this is it.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Written By Wolves

Written By Wolves are a fresh and progressive cinematic rock band and one of the most exciting new rock acts to come from New Zealand in recent years.

Having spent the last three years perfecting their sound, live show and building their international fan base, the 5-piece are set for big things with the release of their debut full length album, Secrets.

Renowned for their highly energetic live show, the band have already shared the stage with international heavyweights such as Machine Gun Kelly, Limp Bizkit, Pendulum, Sublime With Rome, Suicidal Tendencies, Hed PE, Falling In Reverse, Escape The Fate, We The Kings, Four Year Strong, Stevie Stone, Kehlani and finished back-to-back tours with two of New Zealand’s biggest Rock bands - Devilskin and Blindspott.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Written By Wolves

Releases

The Collab Project // Secrets
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Secrets
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Prologue
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem