17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Salamanders

09 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

This is the debut single from Ayla Wesley, a young alt folk/indie artist who has been playing gigs in Tauranga and Auckland over the last few years. It commences with a few electric guitars combining to set an ambience until it settles down to just one guitar being gently played as if it were acoustic, just strummed to accompany Ayla’s fresh and inviting voice. The cover of the single is perfect as it makes me think of the summer to come, and the same is true of the music. After the first minute or so Ayla is joined by a rhythm section which provides some grounding while never taking the focus away from her vocals. The bass is especially warm, adding a sonorous second melody that works incredibly well.

It is something of a surprise to find a staccato passage, where the instrumentation is abrupt and chopped but Ayla continues to sing over the top in the same manner as before. This acts as an interesting break and contrast to what has transpired beforehand, and all music is better for the use of dynamics, and it certainly lifts the overall feel of the song. The song feels young, with a youthful approach to summer, and to a battle-hardened reviewer like me it is incredibly fresh, like a splash of citrus. It has certainly intrigued me, and I look forward to hearing more from Ayla and hopefully catching her at one of the Auckland shows next year. There is an innocence within this which makes the listener feel they are being brought deeply into Ayla’s story, and that it is being told directly to them, and only them.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ayla Wesley

Inspired, thoughtful, and strong, Ayla Wesley is a New Zealand indie folk/rock artist that is passionate about sharing her stories through wavey melodies and dynamic rhythms. Since 2016 Ayla has been discovering her sound and the potential to share about what she believes in. She has gained a passion for playing gigs for the last year and a half in Tauranga and Auckland.

Her debut single Salamanders is a bright and light-hearted summery tune that is bound to get you singing along, produced by Jacob Gerritsen (Marmalade Skies) and accompanied with a music video directed by upcoming filmmaker Finn Lloyd (directed DOONS – Shallows). This song was the beginning of discovering her sound and the catalyst for her writing to truly blossom.

Inspired by Middle Kids, There’s a Tuesday, Stella Donnelly, The Beths, Alice Phoebe Lou, Molly Payton, and more - Ayla is set to make an impact with her strong vocals and ability to dive deep into narrating the ups and downs of growing up.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ayla Wesley

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ayla Wesley.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem