5 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Salamanders

09 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

This is the debut single from Ayla Wesley, a young alt folk/indie artist who has been playing gigs in Tauranga and Auckland over the last few years. It commences with a few electric guitars combining to set an ambience until it settles down to just one guitar being gently played as if it were acoustic, just strummed to accompany Ayla’s fresh and inviting voice. The cover of the single is perfect as it makes me think of the summer to come, and the same is true of the music. After the first minute or so Ayla is joined by a rhythm section which provides some grounding while never taking the focus away from her vocals. The bass is especially warm, adding a sonorous second melody that works incredibly well.

It is something of a surprise to find a staccato passage, where the instrumentation is abrupt and chopped but Ayla continues to sing over the top in the same manner as before. This acts as an interesting break and contrast to what has transpired beforehand, and all music is better for the use of dynamics, and it certainly lifts the overall feel of the song. The song feels young, with a youthful approach to summer, and to a battle-hardened reviewer like me it is incredibly fresh, like a splash of citrus. It has certainly intrigued me, and I look forward to hearing more from Ayla and hopefully catching her at one of the Auckland shows next year. There is an innocence within this which makes the listener feel they are being brought deeply into Ayla’s story, and that it is being told directly to them, and only them.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ayla Wesley

Inspired, thoughtful, and strong, Ayla Wesley is a New Zealand indie folk/rock artist that is passionate about sharing her stories through wavey melodies and dynamic rhythms. Since 2016 Ayla has been discovering her sound and the potential to share about what she believes in. She has gained a passion for playing gigs for the last year and a half in Tauranga and Auckland.

Her debut single Salamanders is a bright and light-hearted summery tune that is bound to get you singing along, produced by Jacob Gerritsen (Marmalade Skies) and accompanied with a music video directed by upcoming filmmaker Finn Lloyd (directed DOONS – Shallows). This song was the beginning of discovering her sound and the catalyst for her writing to truly blossom.

Inspired by Middle Kids, There’s a Tuesday, Stella Donnelly, The Beths, Alice Phoebe Lou, Molly Payton, and more - Ayla is set to make an impact with her strong vocals and ability to dive deep into narrating the ups and downs of growing up.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ayla Wesley

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ayla Wesley.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Xile @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 01/10/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So, it is back out on K Road again for another gig, but strangely enough I am sure this is the first time I have been at Whammy Bar in more than a year, and tonight it is for Xile’s album release show. It shows just what strange times we have been living in as I Am Your God has been out for a couple of years, but this was the first opportunity for them to get out and play, so they were making the most of it.
Read More...
Album Review: Dead Beat Boys
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I’ve always had a soft spot for punk, ever since it exploded in the UK and my dad told me he would kick me out if he ever found any of that music in my collection. I was just 14 when the Pistols were due to play in the next town over (they were banned instead), and it was the most exciting thing to happen in the local music scene until 1980 when Genesis kicked off their national tour with two dates in Paignton.
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: Temporary Insanity
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was very impressed with the last single I heard of Gabriel’s, 2021’s Lights Burn Low, so when I asked to review this, I was looking forward to it. As I noticed last time, this is full of class with very high production, and does not sound like the performance of a musician who has yet to release his debut EP (out soon).
Read More...
Gig Review: Investigator @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 30/09/2022
01 Oct 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch for another night of rock ‘n’ roll. I have reviewed Investigator quite a lot and saw Crystalator support them the last time I saw them at the Cupid, but tonight the band opening was new to me, Glasshouse Keepers.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Callan Carne (drums).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem