24 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lee Martin - Single/Video Review: Finally Going My Way

07 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

One of the sheer delights of Lee Martin’s new album, Gypsy Soul, which is due out in February, is the incredible amount of diversity contained within it. During the recording process, songs were rearranged, many discussions were had, and the album ended up being taken in some directions which probably were not in anyone’s minds at the beginning of the process. Finally Going My Way sees Lee in a country soul style that is laid-back, allowing her to show some of her power and emotion, with a voice which cracks at times, and is gentle and mellow at others. It commences with all the focus on her voice, with dated organ and repeated piano chords behind, and a guitar strike on the beat. It already feels as if it has come from the deep South, and when the wonderful harmony female vocals come in the song is lifted to another level.

There is room for Chris Ward to show some of his note bending skills in the second verse as he is brought more to the fore as Lee lifts the power and passion. After the second chorus he provides a delicate solo which is totally in keeping with the song, while the underlying swing beat is just right, and the introduction of a honky tonk piano lifts the accompaniment yet again. The arrangement is delicate yet when one pays close attention there is the realisation it is also incredibly complex, yet always with Lee at front and centre. There is an emotional connection with the music, with the listener being brought into Lee’s story.

That story when portrayed in a visual format is rather unusual, in that Lee is having a party with some armless mannequins, as well as walking through a barn which is full of them. I was pleased to see red wine make an entrance, along with a Lee-sized glass, as we both enjoy our vino, but I was devastated when I saw her pour it over the head of the mannequin (I can imagine the conversation, “You want me to do what? We do have another bottle though, don’t we?”). It is one of those videos where one can make as much of it as one wants to, deeply analyse what is going on, or just go with the flow, rather like Lee’s songs. I have loved Lee’s music for years, have written press releases for her, drunk wine with her, yet if I felt this was not up to par, I am confident enough in our friendship to say just that. Instead, I will just say the truth, this is an absolute triumph.
Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Lee Martin

Lee Martin is a New Zealand based singer/songwriter who has been impacting the music scene with her thought-provoking lyrics and storytelling writing style. She is South African born and have recorded two original albums that received ample radio play and enjoyed great success with her fans from all the corners of the world. A childhood spent listening to greats such as Van Morrison, Dire Straits, Pink Floyd, Leonard Cohen etc. has greatly influenced her music. Lee started her training in classical guitar at the age of 9 and has been singing and performing professionally for the past 15 years.

Martin is an old soul with a versatile writing style which allows her to cross genres as she glides easily between folk, rock, blues and country, all the while maintaining her unique sound.

Lee's storytelling writing style is what intrigues her fans and keeps them captivated.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lee Martin

Releases

Gypsy Soul
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Lost Girl
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem