7 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ella Pollett - Single Review: Hold On

07 Dec 2021 // A review by Madeleine Howard

Hawkes Bay singer songwriter Ella Pollett released her second single Hold On on the 20th of November.

The 16 year old songwriter has already celebrated success with Hold On, with the song taking out the top prize in the solo category at this year's regional Smokefree Rockquest competition.

Following on from her debut single Fireflies, released earlier this year, Hold On is a simple acoustic track. Beginning with twinkling acoustic picking, Ella's thoughtful lyrics set a romantic scene. What starts as a heart-warming love song, quickly turns into an eerie, reflective tune, with the line "I think I'm losing you," leading into a catchy chorus. The guitar picking is replaced by strumming as Ella belts out "Hold me for the last time, I'll be back in a year, or maybe I'll never see you again." In contrast to the soothing music, the lyrics are thought provoking and reflective.

An easy listening track, Ella's vocals are warm and pleasant in her mid register, and she flips into her head voice effortlessly. Hold On shows Ella has huge potential as an artist, the song has a clear structure and strong lyrics that paint a vivid picture. I would love to hear Hold On fully produced with more instrumentation, and hope this budding songwriter gets the opportunity to showcase this song in such a way in the future.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Ella Pollett

Ella Pollett is a HB singer/songwriter. She began singing at the age of 11 and playing guitar at 13. Ella released her first song Fireflies in 2021, then followed with another song Hold On later that year.

In 2022 Ella won the solo/duo section at the HB Smokefree Rockquest with her original song When I'm Gone. She also won in 2021 for her song Hold On.

She can be found playing at the following venues: The Urban Winery, Crab Farm, Three Wise Birds and the Hawkes Bay Farmer's Market.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ella Pollett

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ella Pollett.

Other Reviews By Madeleine Howard

Just Another June - EP Review: Mo(u)rning
16 Dec 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Otautahi quartet Just Another June released their debut EP Mo(u)rning on December 7th, 2023.Just Another June are singer songwriter Luna Cubillana, vocalist and guitarist Sam Keelty, bassist Austin Standeven and drummer Amy Claire.
Read More...
Shivers - Single Review: Under My Skin
13 Dec 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Wellington based band Shivers released their latest single Under My Skin on the 8th of November. Formed in 2018, Shivers consists of vocalist Timmy Porter, multi-instrumentalist Adrian Win and drummer Rick Cranson.
Read More...
Loveta - EP Review: More Than Fun
29 Nov 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
0Otautahi based pop artist Loveta launched her debut EP More Than Fun on November 18th. The EP is a collaboration with musician Wulfie (Tim Heeringa) and made with support from NZ On Air's Development Fund.
Read More...
Ant Utama - Single Review: Biding My Time
10 Nov 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Pop artist Ant Utama releases his new single Biding My Time today, Friday 11th November. The Kiwi born, now German based artist has enjoyed success with the release of his debut EP Brave in 2020, clocking over 300,000 streams.
Read More...
Molly Devine - EP Review: Still Here
03 Nov 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Otepoti musician Molly Devine releases her new EP Still Here today, on November 4th.The three track EP is a collection of thoughtful and powerful songs that tell the story of Devine's experience with dating app Bumble.
Read More...
Roonie - Single Review: The Way It Should Be
13 Oct 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Pop artist Roonie releases her new single The Way It Should Be today, Friday 14th October 2022. Taupo raised, Christchurch based Roonie is Michaela Pointon, who burst onto the scene in 2020 with the release of her debut single My Heart.
Read More...
Goodwill - EP Review: Incontrol
07 Sep 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Otautahi musician Goodwill released his debut EP Incontrol on the 19th of August. The solo project of musician Will McGillivray, formerly of successful Kiwi band nomad, Incontrol is the result of six years of work in Will’s home studio in Christchurch.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - EP Review: Ego Death
18 Aug 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Hawkes Bay songstress Danica Bryant is back with her sophomore EP Ego Death, released to the world on August 19th. Following on from her 2020 debut EP Cider, Bryant has continued to enjoy success with a string of singles, including sugary pop tune Heart Eyes and head-banging Ready To Bite.
Read More...
View All Articles By Madeleine Howard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • PLAYERS
    Coi Leray
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem