25 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mahoney Harris - Single Review: Band in Town

02 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Band In Town is the latest single from folk/pop singer Mahoney Harris. Inspired by memories of her mum and friends getting ready for nights out, the cover actually features both her mother (on the left) and her godmother. I haven’t heard any of Mahoney’s earlier material, but from I have read this is a bit of a shift for her, as this is far more country and western than what I expected. There is a wonderfully languorous feel to this song, where the focus is always her beautiful voice, which is never rushed in its approach, singing slowly with a lovely tone. It is not easy to sing in this manner, but she makes it seem so, taking the listener back to the laid-back folk style of the early Sixties, yet as the song develops it takes on a slow country swing style with backing vocals, piano, picked electric guitar, a funky bass and some wonderfully distorted guitar chords packed full of reverb.

The production is perfect, with Mahoney always very much front and centre with the accompaniment allowed to become richer over time, yet always there in the perfect support mode. Lyrically she takes us through the events taking place in her memory “The singer’s such a show-off, the bass player’s high, and the drummer is always the nicest guy. It would be interesting to put that last comment on drummers to the vote among the bands I know, as it would be sure to generate some interesting debate, although I know they would all agree about the singer, as that is one of the qualities which make a good front person. The gentle groove combined with those light vocals and the melodic hooks make this a very interesting release indeed. I certainly hope to hear more in the new future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mahoney Harris

Folk/Pop artist, Mahoney Harris writes intimate, wistful but hopeful tunes. Her voice has been described as 'honest, charming and beguiling'.

Mahoney began playing guitar in the summer of 1996 while enduring a hot NYC summer. As soon as she could master a few chords she began writing songs and playing out at local open mike evenings around the city.

In 2009, with the help of Tom Healy (Paquin, Hannah Curwood) Mahoney recorded her debut EP, But They Do, receiving warm praise from music media.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mahoney Harris

Releases

We Didn't Feel Alone
Year: 2014
Type: Album
But They Do
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem