28 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mahoney Harris - Single Review: Band in Town

02 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Band In Town is the latest single from folk/pop singer Mahoney Harris. Inspired by memories of her mum and friends getting ready for nights out, the cover actually features both her mother (on the left) and her godmother. I haven’t heard any of Mahoney’s earlier material, but from I have read this is a bit of a shift for her, as this is far more country and western than what I expected. There is a wonderfully languorous feel to this song, where the focus is always her beautiful voice, which is never rushed in its approach, singing slowly with a lovely tone. It is not easy to sing in this manner, but she makes it seem so, taking the listener back to the laid-back folk style of the early Sixties, yet as the song develops it takes on a slow country swing style with backing vocals, piano, picked electric guitar, a funky bass and some wonderfully distorted guitar chords packed full of reverb.

The production is perfect, with Mahoney always very much front and centre with the accompaniment allowed to become richer over time, yet always there in the perfect support mode. Lyrically she takes us through the events taking place in her memory “The singer’s such a show-off, the bass player’s high, and the drummer is always the nicest guy. It would be interesting to put that last comment on drummers to the vote among the bands I know, as it would be sure to generate some interesting debate, although I know they would all agree about the singer, as that is one of the qualities which make a good front person. The gentle groove combined with those light vocals and the melodic hooks make this a very interesting release indeed. I certainly hope to hear more in the new future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mahoney Harris

Folk/Pop artist, Mahoney Harris writes intimate, wistful but hopeful tunes. Her voice has been described as 'honest, charming and beguiling'.

Mahoney began playing guitar in the summer of 1996 while enduring a hot NYC summer. As soon as she could master a few chords she began writing songs and playing out at local open mike evenings around the city.

In 2009, with the help of Tom Healy (Paquin, Hannah Curwood) Mahoney recorded her debut EP, But They Do, receiving warm praise from music media.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mahoney Harris

Releases

We Didn't Feel Alone
Year: 2014
Type: Album
But They Do
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The Sam Loveridge Band - Album Review: Recovery
27 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Some albums are intense, some are incredibly hard work and only open up (sometimes, if at all) after a great many plays, and others will never be destined for mainstream radio play as there is nothing there to attract the masses. Then there are albums like this one, where all you need to do is check out the cover to have an idea of what it is going to be like inside.
Read More...
Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem