10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mahoney Harris - Single Review: Band in Town

02 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Band In Town is the latest single from folk/pop singer Mahoney Harris. Inspired by memories of her mum and friends getting ready for nights out, the cover actually features both her mother (on the left) and her godmother. I haven’t heard any of Mahoney’s earlier material, but from I have read this is a bit of a shift for her, as this is far more country and western than what I expected. There is a wonderfully languorous feel to this song, where the focus is always her beautiful voice, which is never rushed in its approach, singing slowly with a lovely tone. It is not easy to sing in this manner, but she makes it seem so, taking the listener back to the laid-back folk style of the early Sixties, yet as the song develops it takes on a slow country swing style with backing vocals, piano, picked electric guitar, a funky bass and some wonderfully distorted guitar chords packed full of reverb.

The production is perfect, with Mahoney always very much front and centre with the accompaniment allowed to become richer over time, yet always there in the perfect support mode. Lyrically she takes us through the events taking place in her memory “The singer’s such a show-off, the bass player’s high, and the drummer is always the nicest guy. It would be interesting to put that last comment on drummers to the vote among the bands I know, as it would be sure to generate some interesting debate, although I know they would all agree about the singer, as that is one of the qualities which make a good front person. The gentle groove combined with those light vocals and the melodic hooks make this a very interesting release indeed. I certainly hope to hear more in the new future.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Mahoney Harris

Folk/Pop artist, Mahoney Harris writes intimate, wistful but hopeful tunes. Her voice has been described as 'honest, charming and beguiling'.

Mahoney began playing guitar in the summer of 1996 while enduring a hot NYC summer. As soon as she could master a few chords she began writing songs and playing out at local open mike evenings around the city.

In 2009, with the help of Tom Healy (Paquin, Hannah Curwood) Mahoney recorded her debut EP, But They Do, receiving warm praise from music media.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mahoney Harris

Releases

We Didn't Feel Alone
Year: 2014
Type: Album
But They Do
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem