17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lazy Fifty - Album Review: 2021: A Lazy Odyssey

01 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Lazy Fifty are Adrian Athy (vocals, guitar), Ryan Raggett (bass), and Ali Sochacki (drums), and they play traditional solid Seventies-style melodic hard rock. This is their fourth album, and to put is simple is an absolute blast from start to finish and a load of fun. The introduction is a tongue in cheek version of a certain movie (look at the album title for a clue), and then we are into solid, blues-based rock which is a sheer delight. It is only the fact that one can hear both a rhythm guitar and a lead at one point that one knows this is not just a live recording, as the impression is they waltzed into the studio, knocked this out, and then went and had a beer. Some bands really give the impression they have played together at countless gigs and instinctively know what is happening around them and are incredibly tight, and Lazy Fifty are one of those.

The guitars may be rawer when they are on a stage, but one understands they are a band who simply deliver. This is the music I grew up on, where the guitar sound felt like it had real weight and distortion, the drummer played with tree trunks and the bassist kept it all together, all with a dose of reality and rawness. Over the top, Adrian is a very clear singer, melodic with clear annunciation, and when Ryan joins in with the harmonies it adds a touch of finesse. The guys released three singles from the album, but somehow, they passed me by, so I am glad I have come across this as there is enough polish and finesse to have one really enjoy playing it at home while also expecting it will become a real banger when it is played live.

There is an instrumental, Polly’s Lament, which has a wonderful late Sixties feel to it, while at other times they are channelling Sabbath, or George Thorogood, all styles which makes an old rocker very happy indeed. Just listen to My Hand, (both these numbers were inspired by Peaky Blinders), which is a real throwback with a raw roughness and filthy guitar which is offset by handclaps! There are times when one wants music to be quiet and gentle, and others where it is more visceral while staying melodic and this is definitely one of those. It is full of anthems, and I only hope that next year we get to see the guys up here, as that is a gig I will definitely not miss.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lazy Fifty

Lazy Fifty are a tight three piece band with two male vocalists and an extensive set of original songs.

Their music harks back to 70's classic rock and British blues enhanced with a healthy dose of funk, rocking rhythms and impressive guitar.

They have played Bay of Island Jazz and Blues Festival, the Big Blues Up, Rotorua Blues Festival, Gisborne Wine and Food Festival and Blues and Roots on 35, as well as supporting Renee Geyer.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lazy Fifty

Releases

2021: A Lazy Odyssey
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Fifty Shades Of Lazy
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Petra Et Volvo
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem