20 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lazy Fifty - Album Review: 2021: A Lazy Odyssey

01 Dec 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Lazy Fifty are Adrian Athy (vocals, guitar), Ryan Raggett (bass), and Ali Sochacki (drums), and they play traditional solid Seventies-style melodic hard rock. This is their fourth album, and to put is simple is an absolute blast from start to finish and a load of fun. The introduction is a tongue in cheek version of a certain movie (look at the album title for a clue), and then we are into solid, blues-based rock which is a sheer delight. It is only the fact that one can hear both a rhythm guitar and a lead at one point that one knows this is not just a live recording, as the impression is they waltzed into the studio, knocked this out, and then went and had a beer. Some bands really give the impression they have played together at countless gigs and instinctively know what is happening around them and are incredibly tight, and Lazy Fifty are one of those.

The guitars may be rawer when they are on a stage, but one understands they are a band who simply deliver. This is the music I grew up on, where the guitar sound felt like it had real weight and distortion, the drummer played with tree trunks and the bassist kept it all together, all with a dose of reality and rawness. Over the top, Adrian is a very clear singer, melodic with clear annunciation, and when Ryan joins in with the harmonies it adds a touch of finesse. The guys released three singles from the album, but somehow, they passed me by, so I am glad I have come across this as there is enough polish and finesse to have one really enjoy playing it at home while also expecting it will become a real banger when it is played live.

There is an instrumental, Polly’s Lament, which has a wonderful late Sixties feel to it, while at other times they are channelling Sabbath, or George Thorogood, all styles which makes an old rocker very happy indeed. Just listen to My Hand, (both these numbers were inspired by Peaky Blinders), which is a real throwback with a raw roughness and filthy guitar which is offset by handclaps! There are times when one wants music to be quiet and gentle, and others where it is more visceral while staying melodic and this is definitely one of those. It is full of anthems, and I only hope that next year we get to see the guys up here, as that is a gig I will definitely not miss.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lazy Fifty

Lazy Fifty are a tight three piece band with two male vocalists and an extensive set of original songs.

Their music harks back to 70's classic rock and British blues enhanced with a healthy dose of funk, rocking rhythms and impressive guitar.

They have played Bay of Island Jazz and Blues Festival, the Big Blues Up, Rotorua Blues Festival, Gisborne Wine and Food Festival and Blues and Roots on 35, as well as supporting Renee Geyer.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lazy Fifty

Releases

2021: A Lazy Odyssey
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Fifty Shades Of Lazy
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Petra Et Volvo
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem