20 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

How To Escape Reality - Single Review: Not Another Pop Punk Christmas

30 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

How To Escape Reality were formed in 2020, by songwriter Samuel Fistonich with the help of his brothers and his wife to create music which was heavily influenced from the Emo and pop punk movement. Samuel and his family grew up in China, and this song was written with Mason May, a friend of the band from those days. Lyrically it is about being along at Christmas, something I would not wish on anyone. It opens with a few gentle notes, and then we are straight in with buzzsaw riffs, with the music dying away to allow Sam to ask the question on what is he going to do with everyone so far away? The first few times I played this I didn’t notice there was something wrong with the lyrics, which I blame on being raised and growing up in the UK, but if it snows in New Zealand at Christmas then there is something very wrong indeed with our weather!

One thing which makes this song stand out is the use of dynamics, so there are times when the music drifts away which means that when the riffs come back, they hit hard. This is something which is not always understood by those within this style of music (although it also often gets missed in metal as well), in that it is the contrast which makes the softer quieter, and the louder elements more pronounced. As with any good emo pop punk single there is a great singalong chorus, and this is a full-on blast from start to finish. I would much rather hear this being played in the stores in Auckland at this time of year than the normal repetitive drivel we normally get. If this were in the clubs then I can see a lot of very sweaty people have a load of fun, and sometimes that is all we need our music to do for us. I look forward to hearing more from these guys.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About How To Escape Reality

How To Escape Reality is a 4-piece alternative rock/emo band from New Zealand (but also China - kind of). The band formed in 2020, as songwriter Samuel Fistonich enlisted the help of his brothers and his wife to create a sound reminiscent of 2000's rock music.

Their songs might make you feel a little sad and are best listened to with the volume up way too loud. The band draws influence from their time growing up in China and their individual journeys of discovering who they are and how they fit in this world.

How To Escape Reality released their debut EP in mid-2020 and are currently working on their first full-length album.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for How To Escape Reality

Releases

How To Escape Reality
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem