17 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

How To Escape Reality - Single Review: Not Another Pop Punk Christmas

30 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

How To Escape Reality were formed in 2020, by songwriter Samuel Fistonich with the help of his brothers and his wife to create music which was heavily influenced from the Emo and pop punk movement. Samuel and his family grew up in China, and this song was written with Mason May, a friend of the band from those days. Lyrically it is about being along at Christmas, something I would not wish on anyone. It opens with a few gentle notes, and then we are straight in with buzzsaw riffs, with the music dying away to allow Sam to ask the question on what is he going to do with everyone so far away? The first few times I played this I didn’t notice there was something wrong with the lyrics, which I blame on being raised and growing up in the UK, but if it snows in New Zealand at Christmas then there is something very wrong indeed with our weather!

One thing which makes this song stand out is the use of dynamics, so there are times when the music drifts away which means that when the riffs come back, they hit hard. This is something which is not always understood by those within this style of music (although it also often gets missed in metal as well), in that it is the contrast which makes the softer quieter, and the louder elements more pronounced. As with any good emo pop punk single there is a great singalong chorus, and this is a full-on blast from start to finish. I would much rather hear this being played in the stores in Auckland at this time of year than the normal repetitive drivel we normally get. If this were in the clubs then I can see a lot of very sweaty people have a load of fun, and sometimes that is all we need our music to do for us. I look forward to hearing more from these guys.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About How To Escape Reality

How To Escape Reality is a 4-piece alternative rock/emo band from New Zealand (but also China - kind of). The band formed in 2020, as songwriter Samuel Fistonich enlisted the help of his brothers and his wife to create a sound reminiscent of 2000's rock music.

Their songs might make you feel a little sad and are best listened to with the volume up way too loud. The band draws influence from their time growing up in China and their individual journeys of discovering who they are and how they fit in this world.

How To Escape Reality released their debut EP in mid-2020 and are currently working on their first full-length album.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for How To Escape Reality

Releases

How To Escape Reality
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem