30 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

How To Escape Reality - Single Review: Not Another Pop Punk Christmas

30 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

How To Escape Reality were formed in 2020, by songwriter Samuel Fistonich with the help of his brothers and his wife to create music which was heavily influenced from the Emo and pop punk movement. Samuel and his family grew up in China, and this song was written with Mason May, a friend of the band from those days. Lyrically it is about being along at Christmas, something I would not wish on anyone. It opens with a few gentle notes, and then we are straight in with buzzsaw riffs, with the music dying away to allow Sam to ask the question on what is he going to do with everyone so far away? The first few times I played this I didn’t notice there was something wrong with the lyrics, which I blame on being raised and growing up in the UK, but if it snows in New Zealand at Christmas then there is something very wrong indeed with our weather!

One thing which makes this song stand out is the use of dynamics, so there are times when the music drifts away which means that when the riffs come back, they hit hard. This is something which is not always understood by those within this style of music (although it also often gets missed in metal as well), in that it is the contrast which makes the softer quieter, and the louder elements more pronounced. As with any good emo pop punk single there is a great singalong chorus, and this is a full-on blast from start to finish. I would much rather hear this being played in the stores in Auckland at this time of year than the normal repetitive drivel we normally get. If this were in the clubs then I can see a lot of very sweaty people have a load of fun, and sometimes that is all we need our music to do for us. I look forward to hearing more from these guys.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About How To Escape Reality

How To Escape Reality is a 4-piece alternative rock/emo band from New Zealand (but also China - kind of). The band formed in 2020, as songwriter Samuel Fistonich enlisted the help of his brothers and his wife to create a sound reminiscent of 2000's rock music.

Their songs might make you feel a little sad and are best listened to with the volume up way too loud. The band draws influence from their time growing up in China and their individual journeys of discovering who they are and how they fit in this world.

How To Escape Reality released their debut EP in mid-2020 and are currently working on their first full-length album.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for How To Escape Reality

Releases

How To Escape Reality
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Dead Favours - Single Review: Sink or Swim
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Just the opening few bars of their new single lets the listener know that Dead Favours are back, and yet again they mean business. Charlie sets up an intricate backbeat, Kyle and Jared have their guitars in sync, and at the heart of it all is a filthy bassline with Alex providing melodies and countermelodies, so one is brought into the music long before Jared even starts singing!
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: I Talk Too Much
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Auckland trio Imposter Syndrome, which is based strongly on a riffed acoustic guitar (the sound of which is superb, congrats whoever engineered this), with vocals over the top. Due to its nature this has plenty of space within the arrangements as even when additional instruments are added they are sparse, so the concentration is always on the voice and the guitar.
Read More...
Old Salts - EP Review: Stories Told by the Sea
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Alt rockers Old Salts hail from the shores of Bream Bay, Northland, and features John Buckle (lead vocals, guitar) Scott Brown (lead guitar, BV) Marcus Jones (bass, BV), and Lucas Hargreaves (drums, BV). This four-track EP contains three previously released singles plus the new one, Casual Smoker, which they describe as being reminiscent of Barry Manilow meets RHCP.
Read More...
BO And the Constrictors - EP Review: Love
29 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
These guys are new to me, and when I checked them out, I realised they are from Dunedin, which is why I have not come across them yet on the Auckland circuit, but I do hope they can make it up here at some point as these three songs are a nice slice of rock, and they are doing something quite different with their sound. Named after lead singer/guitarist Boaz Anema, the band also comprises Dean Armitage (bass, backing vocals), Jacob Rutherford (slide guitar) and Jack Mcrae (drums).
Read More...
Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem