28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Not Okays - Single/Video Review: Bite Me

28 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The Not Okays are a band who originally formed a few years ago just to have some fun at the Emo nights put on at Ding Dong Lounge. They comprise Noriel Wong (guitar), Aaron Prictor (guitar, vocals), Lauren Kate Borhani (vocals), Caitlin Clark (bass) and Bahador Borhani (drums). The three guys are all in MIRA, as well as other bands, with Beej best known for being one of the guitarists in Written By Wolves. Lauren is his wife, and she has been best friends with Caitlin since high school, and Caitlin is also Aaron’s partner, so it’s all incredibly incestuous if you ask me…

I first came across Lauren earlier this year when she introduced herself to me at the infamous WBW gig at Dead Witch (if you weren’t there then you missed out one of the most incredible shows I have ever witnessed in more than 40 years of concert going). Mental health has been a major focus for many this year, and Lauren was able to finally get the support she needed from a health professional who diagnosed her with ADHD. With the correct medication for the first time in her life, she is now driven, and the result is the first single from the band.

When emo broke the first time, Lauren was still at high school, and while she loved it, she also felt it was somewhat lame and wherever she looked she did not see a frontwoman who looked like her. This has pushed her way out of her comfort zone to front the group as she wants a new emo revolution which contains the aggression she desires, but also want to act as a role model for those who may feel their body image may not be what is thought of as being “right” in the Instagram age.

Lauren was incredibly nervous about putting this out there, and to be honest I was also nervous writing about it – I mean, I have been out drinking with her lovely father Clive. What would I say if it sucked? This is a cover of the Avril Lavigne song which was only released a few weeks ago, and which has been viewed by many as the best thing she has done in years. As soon as they heard it, the band knew they could do a great version, and you know what? They’re right. The riffs start, Lauren screams, and we’re off. Any concerns I may have had about Lauren’s vocals went right out the window, as she has a great voice, combined with real passion and aggression. She is not playing at this; she means every single word. I also hadn’t realized that Beej was a drummer (as well as being director, videographer, editor, artist, designer, husband, cat-dad) but if one was to come across this in isolation one would never know his main instrument was a guitar. Noriel and Aaron have quite different but complementary styles, riffing hard when it’s needed, but also have gentle interplay at others, while Caitlin fully understands the need to provide driving bass at some points and not play at all on others. The dynamics and the passion are what make this such a great pop punk emo single.

The video is a performance, but of course everyone is in lockdown so we should feel sorry for Noriel who recorded his piece on his own, while Caitlin and Aaron are playing together, and Lauren and Beej are in the same place (although not in the same room). The song is a blast, loads of fun, and when Aaron gives Caitlin the finger he was taking his life in his hands. Lauren is wonderfully animated in front of a microphone, and her reaction at the end of the take is genuine. What we need now is some original material, as this band has special chemistry, and the stage is set for them to make a huge impact in the NZ scene. I love it.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Not Okays

The Not Okays are a five-piece emo revival band from Auckland, New Zealand, celebrating the fact that emo was never dead.

Having headlined Ding Dong Lounge's infamous emo nights since 2018 with covers, extensive lockdowns gave the band the push they needed to start working on original content and continue to support the rise of modern emo.

Lauren Kate Borhani - Vocals

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Not Okays

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Not Okays.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem