19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cloudy - Single Review: Worth It

25 Nov 2021 // A review by Cathy Elizabeth

Kiwi-Austrian artist Cloudy’s new single Worth It ushers in a new sound and a new era for the Auckland-based singer/songwriter. Now accompanied by a full band, the vibe and the energy of the material has been lifted, and this has opened up exciting new songwriting territory for Claudia Paine and her upcoming EP.

The track Worth It feels easy-breezy and carefree, with a lush and layered feel to the recording. It is definitely a very catchy indie-pop sound, and I hear modern influences such as The Beth’s in there, especially vocally. But also for me, I hear a retro new-wave sound, reminding me of bands like The Smith’s, and The Cure’s Friday I’m In Love, for example. But that’s just me showing my age probably!

The bridge gets a bit grittier, and I hear more of a pop-rock edge start to nudge through, with some Avril Lavigne-type vocal motifs, which then lead the song into a very cool breakdown. It’s a great section of the song, and I think showcases more of Cloudy’s emotive range with her voice, which is mostly very measured, smooth, and calming throughout the rest of the song.

The climactic finish involves a succession of rhythmic changes that build tension and continue to ramp up until it reaches its final crescendo. I really like the one-chord finish, it’s quite effective. But I did get a bit lost in the timing of the ending, it was a bit confusing for my brain and it felt a little chaotic! But perhaps that was the deliberate effect of it? Nice little synth tail-off at the end too.

Overall, this is a really pleasing track that feels good and is very catchy and fun. I’m looking forward to hearing the rest of the EP which is being written and developed at the moment. I hope you get to play some live gigs as Auckland begins to open up too! Great work and well done team.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Cloudy

Cloudy is a Kiwi-Austrian alternative-pop singer songwriter from Auckland, New Zealand. Her passions of songwriting are brought to life in the comforts of her bedroom where she brings forth a personal and unique voice. Cloudy captures you with her raw and honest emotions which can be a vulnerable and compelling experience. Her music is original and imaginative crossing worlds of alternative-pop and indie sounds.

With the success of her two first studio releases, Dear Dunkin (2019) and Addicted to You (2020), she began her journey in the recording studio working closely with her producer Harry Charles to record her debut EP titled Good Grief which is set to be released early February/March 2021 . The first track Ill Stay from her EP will be released 8th of January 2021.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cloudy

Releases

There are no releases to display for Cloudy.

Other Reviews By Cathy Elizabeth

Taiotims - Single Review: All For You
28 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
This charming track from Mataio Timaloa AKA Taiotims really put a smile on the dial today. With simple uncluttered beats and a nostalgic feel, backing close, intimate vocals that have been recorded in such a way as to capture that up-close-and-personal vibe, and the subject matter “A love letter to my significant other half” is so lovely to hear in Hip-Hop, or any style of music really, what’s not to love about it?
Read More...
Michele Ducray - Single/Video Review: Manifesto
06 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Christchurch-based pop artist Michele Ducray releases her sophomore single Manifesto, complete with slick video clip produced by Shae Sterling, courtesy of NZ On Air. This dark and intriguing track opens in a foreboding room, filled with polaroid pictures hung on strings, and a somewhat disturbed-seeming character sitting on a step, alone.
Read More...
Imugi - EP Review: It's OK To Be A Lil Alien
05 Apr 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Auckland-based Imugi is comprised of beatmaker/producer Carl Ruwhiu and songwriter/vocalist Yery Cho. With regular releases since 2017 and some big shows and festivals under their belt, Carl and Yery have carved out a space for themselves in the New Zealand music scene, and don’t look to be going anywhere anytime soon.
Read More...
TUi MAMAKi - EP Review: A L'Aube
11 Feb 2022 // by Cathy Elizabeth
What an absolute pleasure to dip my toes into the cool water beneath the pier with TUi MAMAKi, and listen to her beautifully immersive EP A L’Aube. The title track is described by TUi MAMAKi as “inspired by a dream in which I met my animus : we sat together on a pier and, feeling no need to speak, played music til dawn.
Read More...
Wubchaser - EP Review: Signal to Noise
29 Dec 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Wubchaser is the electronic music project of Auckland-based sound engineer and producer Luke Finlay of Primal Mastering. Hailing from the alternative music scene and having previously played in metal bands, Finlay has more recently been doing live sound at big events such as RnV, Shipwrecked, Aum, and Splore.
Read More...
Fragile Colours - Album Review: Dancing With The Shadows (In Plato's Cave)
14 Dec 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Studio project Fragile Colours released their second album Dancing With The Shadows (In Plato’s Cave) in June 2021, this time featuring Kamaea Harry on vocals. Nine out of the 10 tracks on the album were penned by Tim Julian specifically with Kamaea’s voice in mind after she sang most of the backing vocals on the previous album Southern Utopia.
Read More...
Fathom - Single Review: Mother Star
26 Nov 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
Mother Star is the debut single that introduces Fathom, solo project of Auckland-based Nancy Howie, to the world, with an extravagant and emphatic throwing back of the curtains, and a celebratory sense of letting the sun shine in. I suspect the incredibly creative and resourceful Howie has single-handedly ushered in the Age of Aquarius with this wholesome and uplifting alt-folk anthem.
Read More...
EP Review: NOVA
11 Nov 2021 // by Cathy Elizabeth
A pleasure to review this debut self-titled EP from NOVA; the new musical project of Wellington locals Bryn van Vliet and Eliza Pickard, joined by Jeremy Richardson and Phoebe Johnson. The vibe is soothing, relaxed, and calming, and is a very nice listen indeed.
Read More...
View All Articles By Cathy Elizabeth

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem