23 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Sam Loveridge Band - Single/Video Review: I Wanna Dance

21 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Sam and the guys are back with the second single from the forthcoming album, Recovery, and if ever they were looking for radio play I can pretty much guarantee this will not be getting it with this one. The simple reason is that in the key part of the chorus, people get asked to go forth and multiply, and somehow, I don’t think the mainstream are quite ready for that yet. But there is no doubt at all that this is going to be a massive hit on the live scene as the whole song is a complete blast. Sam described it to me as a “pop banger,” and he has got that bang to rights although there are not that many pop numbers which use banjo in a straight set up, which somehow sounds perfect alongside a keytar. There is also a violin involved with this, but it is not a folk number, rather it is the perfect sound for a summer’s day, to be played on the beach.

When it comes to festivals next year one can guarantee this is going to be much in demand, as everyone is going to be singing along while they are jumping up and down to a hugely infectious and dynamic beat. A video has also been released to go along with this, filmed in a dance studio, with all the lyrics playing on the screen at the same time. It somehow defies description and really does need to be seen to be believed. All credit to producer Jamie Crerar at Red Room Studios as he has done a great job, while it was then mastered by Chris Chetland at Kog Studios. It is a bouncy pop number, full of joie de vivre, and guaranteed to put a smile on the face of anyone.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Sam Loveridge Band

The Sam Loveridge Band was formed in Auckland, New Zealand in 2021. The band has connections to the University of Auckland Jazz school where four of the members met (Sam, Sam, Chris and Bhagirath) and the Auckland open mic scene where Jono and Sam play regularly. The band plays an eclectic mix of genres from Folk and Psychedelic to Disco and Funk all built up from songs Sam has written.

The Band is set to release there first single Run Into You on the 23rd of July 2021 with a full album dropping in late November of the same year.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Sam Loveridge Band

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Sam Loveridge Band.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem