4 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gramsci - Single/Video Review: Ourselves

18 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Gramsci last year when they released the amazing album Inheritance, which was then followed up with a theatre performance which was stunning by all accounts (I was gutted not to be able to make it). But I am very late to the piece indeed, as Gramsci are the brainchild of Paul McLaney who is so productive that he has lost count of the works he has undertaken to date. These vary from the acoustic finger-style guitar and lush string arrangements of his solo work, the ambient and experimental electronica of The Impending Adorations, prog-rock with Immram, the piano excursions of ‘The Old Traditions’ with Raashi Malik, the Te Reo song settings of Shakespeare and an ever-expanding body of composition for theatre and dance. Then the collaborations can be added to that, where he has worked with the likes of Anika Moa, SJD, Breaks Co-op, Julia Deans, Concord Dawn, Counterstrike and Fly My Pretties. He is always working on the next project before the last one has even been released.

This single is taken from the forthcoming album The Hinterlands, and he has kept together the band which worked on Inheritance, so while Paul provides vocals, guitars, synths, and programming he is joined by Greg Haver (drums), Marika Hodgson (bass) and Jol Mulholland (guitar). It starts in simple 4/4 time, with the snare being hit hard, Marika providing some of that wonderfully warm bass she is so well known for, providing a melody to keep the music together, while at the forefront there is picked staccato guitar. Paul’s vocals are layered on top of this, often holding lengthy notes in direct contrast to the guitars underneath. Halfway through the song and we turn from a number which had felt quite Eighties to one where the underlying music stays the same, but it has taken on a new intensity driven by an over-the-top distorted guitar solo. We have another verse back at the same level as before, and then we get another blast of distortion which takes it from art rock into something with far more presence and dominance. It is almost as if Simple Minds have played on some of the song, with The Edge taking a few leads.

The song is a real builder, with stacks of contrast and different styles contained within which somehow meld together to create something quite special. This is combined with a deep and meaningful video filmed in different locations in Canterbury by Richard Bell (Joy Division, Depeche Mode, U2, Smashing Pumpkins and Nirvana) which stars Zachary Te Maari doing some rather strange things with a chair in different landscapes, all filmed tastefully in black and white, and the other worldly feel matches well with the music. This is yet another huge success for Paul, and I can’t wait for the album.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Gramsci

The name Gramsci is taken from an infamous Italian political philosopher.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gramsci

Releases

The Hinterlands
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Inheritance
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Like Stray Voltage
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Object
Year: 2002
Type: Album
Permanence
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem