19 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gramsci - Single/Video Review: Ourselves

18 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Gramsci last year when they released the amazing album Inheritance, which was then followed up with a theatre performance which was stunning by all accounts (I was gutted not to be able to make it). But I am very late to the piece indeed, as Gramsci are the brainchild of Paul McLaney who is so productive that he has lost count of the works he has undertaken to date. These vary from the acoustic finger-style guitar and lush string arrangements of his solo work, the ambient and experimental electronica of The Impending Adorations, prog-rock with Immram, the piano excursions of ‘The Old Traditions’ with Raashi Malik, the Te Reo song settings of Shakespeare and an ever-expanding body of composition for theatre and dance. Then the collaborations can be added to that, where he has worked with the likes of Anika Moa, SJD, Breaks Co-op, Julia Deans, Concord Dawn, Counterstrike and Fly My Pretties. He is always working on the next project before the last one has even been released.

This single is taken from the forthcoming album The Hinterlands, and he has kept together the band which worked on Inheritance, so while Paul provides vocals, guitars, synths, and programming he is joined by Greg Haver (drums), Marika Hodgson (bass) and Jol Mulholland (guitar). It starts in simple 4/4 time, with the snare being hit hard, Marika providing some of that wonderfully warm bass she is so well known for, providing a melody to keep the music together, while at the forefront there is picked staccato guitar. Paul’s vocals are layered on top of this, often holding lengthy notes in direct contrast to the guitars underneath. Halfway through the song and we turn from a number which had felt quite Eighties to one where the underlying music stays the same, but it has taken on a new intensity driven by an over-the-top distorted guitar solo. We have another verse back at the same level as before, and then we get another blast of distortion which takes it from art rock into something with far more presence and dominance. It is almost as if Simple Minds have played on some of the song, with The Edge taking a few leads.

The song is a real builder, with stacks of contrast and different styles contained within which somehow meld together to create something quite special. This is combined with a deep and meaningful video filmed in different locations in Canterbury by Richard Bell (Joy Division, Depeche Mode, U2, Smashing Pumpkins and Nirvana) which stars Zachary Te Maari doing some rather strange things with a chair in different landscapes, all filmed tastefully in black and white, and the other worldly feel matches well with the music. This is yet another huge success for Paul, and I can’t wait for the album.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Gramsci

The name Gramsci is taken from an infamous Italian political philosopher.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gramsci

Releases

The Hinterlands
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Inheritance
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Like Stray Voltage
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Object
Year: 2002
Type: Album
Permanence
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem