5 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pervertor - Album Review: Putrid Dominion

18 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Wellington-based blackened thrash outfit Pervertor are back with their third-full length album, Putrid Dominion, some four years since Perverted Tales of Depravity. Since they released their first demo back in 2009 the band have had the same line-up throughout of Necroar (vocals), Inebriator (guitar), Carnage (bass), and Rots (drums). This goes some way to explaining why Inebriator and Carnage are just so incredibly tight together – often playing as a dual melodic attack as opposed to sitting back with Rots. There is distinct space around the drums, which allows the sound to come through really clearly; this is great as Rots is an incredible workman, pushing his kit to the limit by using every inch of it, often at breakneck speed. But not always, as in songs such as Sickening, they go through at pace and then drop down into doom, always with Rots pummelling from the rear.

With strong support, Carnage can use his bass as if he is on a second guitar, only rarely deviating from the melodic path being undertaken by Inebriator, providing a tight bottom sound which extends the power of the riff. Blackened thrash is a style that can often be much maligned, but within the black metal sub-genre it is one of my favourites, pushing black metal into areas which it traditionally held sway before moving into areas such as folk and even gothic. No keyboards or choirs here, just four guys attempting to rip your ears to shreds. Then at the front we have Necroar, who has obviously been taking his influences from the likes of the great Attila Csihar. He has a harsh style which both contrasts with the fluidity of the music accompanying him, yet somehow is a perfect match. When he is not singing the music takes on a totally different manner and timbre, yet as soon as he approaches the microphone the menace and dread come powering through. The switching of pace in different numbers allows the listener to appreciate the dynamics and different styles, which means that the heaviness continues to be dominant throughout without ever losing the vitality and contrast.

This is a powering and powerful release, with all eight songs hitting incredibly hard, and at thirty minutes is the perfect length in that it comes in and assaults the senses before disappearing until the listener feels the time is right to put it on again. Previously they have mastered their own recordings, but this time they used Jack Control of Enormous Door Mastering (Darkthrone, Aura Noir, Isengard, Mork, Cianide, and Old Wainds), a real heavyweight of the scene who has provided additional sonic cut through..

Not only has it been made available digitally, but there are limited edition CDs, cassettes, and vinyl. Cassettes are definitely making their way back into the underground scene, especially in extreme forms of metal, while vinyl must be the way to go with this album as the additional warmth and great art (they have used the same artist on all their albums). I can only hope that they will see fit to come up to Auckland when we are able to get back into live music, as hearing these guys in Ding Dong would be awesome. See you there!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Pervertor

The embryo grew from 2001, fully formed in 2008. Pervertor currently has 3 full length album releases available. The latest, Putrid Dominion, released in 2021, continues the documentation of all that has infected this earth since the beginning of time.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pervertor

Releases

Putrid Dominion
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Perverted Tales Of Depravity
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Into The Alcoholic Abyss
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem