7 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pervertor - Album Review: Putrid Dominion

18 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Wellington-based blackened thrash outfit Pervertor are back with their third-full length album, Putrid Dominion, some four years since Perverted Tales of Depravity. Since they released their first demo back in 2009 the band have had the same line-up throughout of Necroar (vocals), Inebriator (guitar), Carnage (bass), and Rots (drums). This goes some way to explaining why Inebriator and Carnage are just so incredibly tight together – often playing as a dual melodic attack as opposed to sitting back with Rots. There is distinct space around the drums, which allows the sound to come through really clearly; this is great as Rots is an incredible workman, pushing his kit to the limit by using every inch of it, often at breakneck speed. But not always, as in songs such as Sickening, they go through at pace and then drop down into doom, always with Rots pummelling from the rear.

With strong support, Carnage can use his bass as if he is on a second guitar, only rarely deviating from the melodic path being undertaken by Inebriator, providing a tight bottom sound which extends the power of the riff. Blackened thrash is a style that can often be much maligned, but within the black metal sub-genre it is one of my favourites, pushing black metal into areas which it traditionally held sway before moving into areas such as folk and even gothic. No keyboards or choirs here, just four guys attempting to rip your ears to shreds. Then at the front we have Necroar, who has obviously been taking his influences from the likes of the great Attila Csihar. He has a harsh style which both contrasts with the fluidity of the music accompanying him, yet somehow is a perfect match. When he is not singing the music takes on a totally different manner and timbre, yet as soon as he approaches the microphone the menace and dread come powering through. The switching of pace in different numbers allows the listener to appreciate the dynamics and different styles, which means that the heaviness continues to be dominant throughout without ever losing the vitality and contrast.

This is a powering and powerful release, with all eight songs hitting incredibly hard, and at thirty minutes is the perfect length in that it comes in and assaults the senses before disappearing until the listener feels the time is right to put it on again. Previously they have mastered their own recordings, but this time they used Jack Control of Enormous Door Mastering (Darkthrone, Aura Noir, Isengard, Mork, Cianide, and Old Wainds), a real heavyweight of the scene who has provided additional sonic cut through..

Not only has it been made available digitally, but there are limited edition CDs, cassettes, and vinyl. Cassettes are definitely making their way back into the underground scene, especially in extreme forms of metal, while vinyl must be the way to go with this album as the additional warmth and great art (they have used the same artist on all their albums). I can only hope that they will see fit to come up to Auckland when we are able to get back into live music, as hearing these guys in Ding Dong would be awesome. See you there!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Pervertor

The embryo grew from 2001, fully formed in 2008. Pervertor currently has 3 full length album releases available. The latest, Putrid Dominion, released in 2021, continues the documentation of all that has infected this earth since the beginning of time.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pervertor

Releases

Putrid Dominion
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Perverted Tales Of Depravity
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Into The Alcoholic Abyss
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Downfall of Humanity - Single Review: War Cry
05 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Given the age of these guys, it is somewhat difficult to realise that this line-up has been together since 2009 when Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals) joined forces with Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums). In 2021 they released the excellent Deceit EP, and here at the end of 2022 they are back with their latest single, War Cry which has just blown me away.
Read More...
Gig Review: LIIT @ Morningside 605, Auckland - 3/12/2022
04 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often I can say I am at a venue for the first time, but this is indeed the first time I have attended the small but perfectly formed venue which is Morningside 605. I had made my way over to this side of Auckland, and had to park miles away due to Billy Joel playing at Eden Park on the same night, to catch the infamous LIIT and have a party.
Read More...
KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem