15 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pervertor - Album Review: Putrid Dominion

18 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Wellington-based blackened thrash outfit Pervertor are back with their third-full length album, Putrid Dominion, some four years since Perverted Tales of Depravity. Since they released their first demo back in 2009 the band have had the same line-up throughout of Necroar (vocals), Inebriator (guitar), Carnage (bass), and Rots (drums). This goes some way to explaining why Inebriator and Carnage are just so incredibly tight together – often playing as a dual melodic attack as opposed to sitting back with Rots. There is distinct space around the drums, which allows the sound to come through really clearly; this is great as Rots is an incredible workman, pushing his kit to the limit by using every inch of it, often at breakneck speed. But not always, as in songs such as Sickening, they go through at pace and then drop down into doom, always with Rots pummelling from the rear.

With strong support, Carnage can use his bass as if he is on a second guitar, only rarely deviating from the melodic path being undertaken by Inebriator, providing a tight bottom sound which extends the power of the riff. Blackened thrash is a style that can often be much maligned, but within the black metal sub-genre it is one of my favourites, pushing black metal into areas which it traditionally held sway before moving into areas such as folk and even gothic. No keyboards or choirs here, just four guys attempting to rip your ears to shreds. Then at the front we have Necroar, who has obviously been taking his influences from the likes of the great Attila Csihar. He has a harsh style which both contrasts with the fluidity of the music accompanying him, yet somehow is a perfect match. When he is not singing the music takes on a totally different manner and timbre, yet as soon as he approaches the microphone the menace and dread come powering through. The switching of pace in different numbers allows the listener to appreciate the dynamics and different styles, which means that the heaviness continues to be dominant throughout without ever losing the vitality and contrast.

This is a powering and powerful release, with all eight songs hitting incredibly hard, and at thirty minutes is the perfect length in that it comes in and assaults the senses before disappearing until the listener feels the time is right to put it on again. Previously they have mastered their own recordings, but this time they used Jack Control of Enormous Door Mastering (Darkthrone, Aura Noir, Isengard, Mork, Cianide, and Old Wainds), a real heavyweight of the scene who has provided additional sonic cut through..

Not only has it been made available digitally, but there are limited edition CDs, cassettes, and vinyl. Cassettes are definitely making their way back into the underground scene, especially in extreme forms of metal, while vinyl must be the way to go with this album as the additional warmth and great art (they have used the same artist on all their albums). I can only hope that they will see fit to come up to Auckland when we are able to get back into live music, as hearing these guys in Ding Dong would be awesome. See you there!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Pervertor

The embryo grew from 2001, fully formed in 2008. Pervertor currently has 3 full length album releases available. The latest, Putrid Dominion, released in 2021, continues the documentation of all that has infected this earth since the beginning of time.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pervertor

Releases

Putrid Dominion
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Perverted Tales Of Depravity
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Into The Alcoholic Abyss
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem