7 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

On Tick - Album Review: Nothing New

18 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

On Tick was formed by brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), out of the ashes of their previous band, Evil Tomato. They decided to work as a rough and raw punk duo, adapting some of the older songs to their new style, a few of which can be heard here. They were looking for a studio, and when they heard the demoes from Black Sands they booked time to work with the man responsible for those recordings, Matt Hammond. The brothers wanted to be aggressive and over the top, but Matt convinced them the songs would work better with layers and atmosphere, and soon found himself not only producing the album but also a member of the band, providing 5-string bass.

Anyone who has seen On Tick as a trio (they are now a quartet with the addition of Matt Perry on bass, and Matt H switching to lead guitar) will know how aggressive and in your face they are. Even though I had heard some of the singles, I was not actually prepared for the full album, as what we have here are a band who sound quite different and removed from the live version, yet obviously they are closely related. The bass and guitar are often totally linked as one, with no separation (although there are a couple of lovely little finger pops near the beginning of Don’t Know Who I Am, while the drums are wonderfully clear (which allows us to hear the nuances and different styles Brendan employs throughout). The rough edges have been smoothed, which in some ways allows us to have a much cleaner album, although at the same time it does sometimes come across as somewhat muted. Mind you, put Aidan behind a microphone and the only he knows how to approach it is at full bore, and his brother’s backing vocals also still have the deep gruff edge we have come to expect.

While opener Radioshit is still one of the highlights for me, as it normally is with the live set, special mention must also be made of Hound, where the guys show off some wonderful syncopation. There are times when they remind me of Life of Agony, and it took me ages to work out who the other band was but finally today it came to me, Budgie! There is something similar in Matt’s bass work to that of Burke Shelley and it really comes through strongly in the slower numbers.

Matt was right when he said these songs could work in a different manner with layers and atmosphere, as it has definitely lifted them. There are times when they still come across with a raw demo sound, and one knows the sweaty hardcore punks haven’t gone too far away, but there is sophistication at times which does not always come through when they are onstage blasting away. Now all we must wait for is the delayed album release gig, as that is going to be a night for beer, sweat, and very loud music indeed.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About On Tick

Three piece band from Auckland belting out heavy tunes for your pleasure.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for On Tick

Releases

There are no releases to display for On Tick.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Downfall of Humanity - Single Review: War Cry
05 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Given the age of these guys, it is somewhat difficult to realise that this line-up has been together since 2009 when Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals) joined forces with Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums). In 2021 they released the excellent Deceit EP, and here at the end of 2022 they are back with their latest single, War Cry which has just blown me away.
Read More...
Gig Review: LIIT @ Morningside 605, Auckland - 3/12/2022
04 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often I can say I am at a venue for the first time, but this is indeed the first time I have attended the small but perfectly formed venue which is Morningside 605. I had made my way over to this side of Auckland, and had to park miles away due to Billy Joel playing at Eden Park on the same night, to catch the infamous LIIT and have a party.
Read More...
KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem