28 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

On Tick - Album Review: Nothing New

18 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

On Tick was formed by brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), out of the ashes of their previous band, Evil Tomato. They decided to work as a rough and raw punk duo, adapting some of the older songs to their new style, a few of which can be heard here. They were looking for a studio, and when they heard the demoes from Black Sands they booked time to work with the man responsible for those recordings, Matt Hammond. The brothers wanted to be aggressive and over the top, but Matt convinced them the songs would work better with layers and atmosphere, and soon found himself not only producing the album but also a member of the band, providing 5-string bass.

Anyone who has seen On Tick as a trio (they are now a quartet with the addition of Matt Perry on bass, and Matt H switching to lead guitar) will know how aggressive and in your face they are. Even though I had heard some of the singles, I was not actually prepared for the full album, as what we have here are a band who sound quite different and removed from the live version, yet obviously they are closely related. The bass and guitar are often totally linked as one, with no separation (although there are a couple of lovely little finger pops near the beginning of Don’t Know Who I Am, while the drums are wonderfully clear (which allows us to hear the nuances and different styles Brendan employs throughout). The rough edges have been smoothed, which in some ways allows us to have a much cleaner album, although at the same time it does sometimes come across as somewhat muted. Mind you, put Aidan behind a microphone and the only he knows how to approach it is at full bore, and his brother’s backing vocals also still have the deep gruff edge we have come to expect.

While opener Radioshit is still one of the highlights for me, as it normally is with the live set, special mention must also be made of Hound, where the guys show off some wonderful syncopation. There are times when they remind me of Life of Agony, and it took me ages to work out who the other band was but finally today it came to me, Budgie! There is something similar in Matt’s bass work to that of Burke Shelley and it really comes through strongly in the slower numbers.

Matt was right when he said these songs could work in a different manner with layers and atmosphere, as it has definitely lifted them. There are times when they still come across with a raw demo sound, and one knows the sweaty hardcore punks haven’t gone too far away, but there is sophistication at times which does not always come through when they are onstage blasting away. Now all we must wait for is the delayed album release gig, as that is going to be a night for beer, sweat, and very loud music indeed.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About On Tick

Three piece band from Auckland belting out heavy tunes for your pleasure.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for On Tick

Releases

There are no releases to display for On Tick.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem