3 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Powder Chutes - Single Review: Take It Or Leave It

17 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I must confess to doing a little bit of a double take when I first saw a photo of these guys, as it looked like none of them were old enough to shave! A check of their bio and I was able to see that the band comprises Archie Orbell (16), Clarke West (16), Henry McConnell (16) & Otis Murphy (14) – when a group put their age into their bio you know they are young. They’ve been busy already though, playing some prestigious gigs not only in their hometown of Wanaka but also in Queenstown. This is their debut single, which is being released ahead of the six-track EP, Sweet Noise Pollution, which is due out in January; based on this, that will be an interesting listen.

Here we have a band who have obviously been influenced by Shihad, while there are also hints of grunge and even some NWOBM naivety in it. There is definitely a demo sound to this, it has been left raw with an edge of filthiness, and one can imagine the guys going into the studio, plugging in and then leaving with this as the result. It starts with a drum pattern for a few bars before the guitars and bass come in, and it is quickly apparent that it is the chugging bass which gives this band its heart as it allows the guitars to follow the melody or just be there faintly fading out until it is time to come back in again. Apart from the youthful vocals, which do have an edge and a bluesy quality, there is nothing in the sound which would make one think that here is a band who are so young. I mean, they make White Nøise Mafia look like old men!

There is a vitality to this, and after just a few plays the hooks and annoyingly catchy chorus are embedded in the brain. If they are performing like this now, one wonders what the future holds for them, as if they can keep producing songs like this then anything could happen by the time they are old enough to buy me a beer.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Powder Chutes

Powder Chutes are Archie Orbell, Clarke West, Henry McConnell & Otis Murphy, garage rock miscreants with an impressive work ethic, and an unmistakable groove.

From Wanaka, New Zealand, they are a tight young four piece delivering a heady mix of thunderous stage-ready, riff-laden originals, and carefully considered covers. With none of them over 16, Powder Chutes bring a freshness to guitar driven music that combines youthful exuberance with sweat-soaked vintage grunt. 

The boys are coming out blazing with their first self-funded Sweet Noise Pollution EP, recorded in 3 days of sonic genius at the incredible Studio Sublime (of Reb Fountain fame) in mid 2021 . With artwork by Jersey born Producer, DJ, pro-snowboarder, skateboarder, graffiti artist, and travel blogger Scott Nixon, the EP drops soon on all major platforms.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Powder Chutes

Releases

Sweet Noise Pollution
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem