5 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Powder Chutes - Single Review: Take It Or Leave It

17 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I must confess to doing a little bit of a double take when I first saw a photo of these guys, as it looked like none of them were old enough to shave! A check of their bio and I was able to see that the band comprises Archie Orbell (16), Clarke West (16), Henry McConnell (16) & Otis Murphy (14) – when a group put their age into their bio you know they are young. They’ve been busy already though, playing some prestigious gigs not only in their hometown of Wanaka but also in Queenstown. This is their debut single, which is being released ahead of the six-track EP, Sweet Noise Pollution, which is due out in January; based on this, that will be an interesting listen.

Here we have a band who have obviously been influenced by Shihad, while there are also hints of grunge and even some NWOBM naivety in it. There is definitely a demo sound to this, it has been left raw with an edge of filthiness, and one can imagine the guys going into the studio, plugging in and then leaving with this as the result. It starts with a drum pattern for a few bars before the guitars and bass come in, and it is quickly apparent that it is the chugging bass which gives this band its heart as it allows the guitars to follow the melody or just be there faintly fading out until it is time to come back in again. Apart from the youthful vocals, which do have an edge and a bluesy quality, there is nothing in the sound which would make one think that here is a band who are so young. I mean, they make White Nøise Mafia look like old men!

There is a vitality to this, and after just a few plays the hooks and annoyingly catchy chorus are embedded in the brain. If they are performing like this now, one wonders what the future holds for them, as if they can keep producing songs like this then anything could happen by the time they are old enough to buy me a beer.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Powder Chutes

Powder Chutes are Archie Orbell, Clarke West, Henry McConnell & Otis Murphy, garage rock miscreants with an impressive work ethic, and an unmistakable groove.

From Wanaka, New Zealand, they are a tight young four piece delivering a heady mix of thunderous stage-ready, riff-laden originals, and carefully considered covers. With none of them over 16, Powder Chutes bring a freshness to guitar driven music that combines youthful exuberance with sweat-soaked vintage grunt. 

The boys are coming out blazing with their first self-funded Sweet Noise Pollution EP, recorded in 3 days of sonic genius at the incredible Studio Sublime (of Reb Fountain fame) in mid 2021 . With artwork by Jersey born Producer, DJ, pro-snowboarder, skateboarder, graffiti artist, and travel blogger Scott Nixon, the EP drops soon on all major platforms.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Powder Chutes

Releases

Sweet Noise Pollution
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: T-Bone @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 03/07/2022
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to Tuning Fork for an early start with doors opening at 5:30 and the whole thing expected to be over by 9:30! I was so glad that Al from Hoop sent me the running times in the morning otherwise I would have missed their set altogether as well as possibly missing the beginning of T-Bone!
Read More...
EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem