28 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sit Down In Front - Single/Video Review: Pixie Caramel Feat. Tiki Taane

11 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

When punk hit the UK in 1976, I loved the high-octane high energy music which came out of the scene and was quite surprised when the adults around me said there was no melody, and it was just a load of noise. The first wave of the new punk scene was made up of musicians who had been part of the earlier pub rock craze, so they knew what they were doing, and were far more musically inclined than many gave them credit for. The Sex Pistols brought in Chris Spedding to give them some polish, while The Clash were not afraid to drop in reggae and bands like The Damned knew how to craft perfectly formed singles with catchy hooks and choruses, while when looking over the Atlantic, The Ramones were doing something very similar. Even UK Subs turned on the charm, while The Adverts pulled it all together.

Here we have a song which is bringing together all these styles and influences, adding in one of New Zealand’s most important musicians in Tiki Taane (his version of Over The Rainbow is still my all-time favourite), and then combined it all with chocolate! Pixie Caramel is a typical Kiwi chocolate bar, in that it is loved here and unheard of in most other places (manufactured now by Nestle). It is chewy caramel covered in chocolate, and the 1980 advert is still available on YouTube, where the prisoner facing the firing squad asks for a Pixie Caramel as his last request, and it takes so long for him to eat it that everyone falls asleep and he escapes over the wall.

The Gisborne punk band have designed a song about going to the dairy to get their favourite bar and have packed it full of aggression and angst with shouty backing vocals, yet although there are buzzsaw riffs they somehow find room to throw in a hip hop/drum & bass section from Tiki which is somehow very different yet totally aligned with what is going on either side. The arrangement and production is clean, allowing the punk ethic to come through while it is also incredibly polished, as would be expected from a band who released their debut album when they were just 14 years old.

On its own the song is wacky throwback to classic punk and all that means, while the video takes it to new levels. We are back with the 1980 advert, except this time we have Tiki as the sergeant leading the firing squad, who asks singer Cory Newman “Is there anything I can do for you before you get shot in the head?”. He then jokes around until Cory finally gives his answer, “Pixie Caramel?” The rest of the video finds the guys playing the song, Tiki on a skateboard, the guards either joining in or falling asleep until the band escape, with the last sound being a siren warning of escape and Cory’s wheelchair being dragged up the wall on a rope.

Some bands remember that punk can be all about fun and having a great time, and Sit Down In Front are one of those.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sit Down In Front

Coming from the small surfing village of Gisborne, it’s not surprising that Sit Down In Front produce a distinctive punk / surf vibe that is hard and fast. Having formed in early 2017 they are becoming well known for their tunes that cover every day life stuff and the stories that come with all their songs.

Having recorded and self-produced their first album Red Light Runner at the ripe old age of 14 years, the process taught them an awful lot. Although they have not yet received multiple awards and platinum sales, the future is bright. Their sound is built on the foundations of classic punk rock, a bit raw, but with a touch of youthful innocents. Sit Down In Front has developed a unique sound, capturing both old and new, which can often be lost in the pursuit of the next new thing!

Build on childhood mates and family friends, it all started one afternoon in the lead singer (Cory’s) garage when Jack (guitarist) and Rikki (drummer) turned up to jam. It didn’t take long until they found Roman (bass) and the rest is history in the making.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sit Down In Front

Releases

Fuelling My Rage
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Confessions of a Pie Thief
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Red Light Runner
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
The Rising Tide - EP Review: The Hope We Die For
05 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Palmerston North deathcore band The Rising Tide had a great 2022, touring for the first time in six years and here we are now with their latest EP which is being released in time for a quick nationwide tour which sees them playing Auckland, New Plymouth, Wellington, and Christchurch. They may call themselves deathcore, but to be honest they probably have more in common with “straight” death based on these three songs, although there is a lot going on.
Read More...
EP Review: Chasing Titans
28 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP by Auckland-based metalcore trio Chasing Titans who were formed in 2018 and comprise Adrian Govender (guitar, vocals), Sylvester Porizakova (bass, vocals), and Torrance Kam (drums). The name is inspired by the original Greek Titans and reflects the philosophy of never giving up on one’s biggest dreams and striving for greatness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem