29 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Before The Snooze - Album Review: Wipe The Slate

09 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Dunedin alt rock jangly indie pop heroes Before The Snooze are back with their debut album, following from the EP which was released a few years back. The lead track of that set, That’s A Fact! is also included here, but the other 11 are all new. If one was to play this album to anyone in NZ and ask them to guess the city the band were from, there is a high likelihood that they would plump for the one which has delivered so many great bands playing in this genre, and these guys sit in alongside the Flying Nun sound very happily indeed. They cite bands such as Stone Roses, The Coral, Supergrass and The Kinks as their main influences, but there is a presence and style about them that is far more NZ than UK.

Comprising Stephen Hillman (vocals and guitar), Adam Binns (bass), Scott Turnbull (drums) and Wes Jenkins (lead guitar), they work through different styles while never moving too far away from the indie vibe. The acoustic guitar and dated keyboards sounds on Life Moves On is sheer delight, taking us back more than 50 years to the psychedelic heyday, with a very laid-back manner which is in stark contrast to the high tempo summer sounds of Highs & Lows. Closing number Down By The Sea is by far the longest at nearly 7 minutes (but it does also included a fade out, silence, and then more music – I thought “hidden songs” had gone long ago!), but the vast majority are three minutes or less, with a few only breaking the two minutes.

But it doesn’t seem to matter how long each song is, as they manage to cram in hooks and a feel-good factor which makes it impossible to listen to this without a smile on the face. This is music meant to be played in sweaty pubs where everyone is having a drink and a great time. It takes us back to the Eighties when anything was possible, with the explosion of new genres after punk which led to people picking up instruments and allowing themselves to explore music. There is that sense of freedom within this, of four guys who are having a blast, who at times sound full-on indie and at others come across as The Clash. This is not music meant to be interrogated and dissected, rather put it on and have a blast.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Before The Snooze

A group of four 30 and 40 somethings, playing original jangle guitar songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Before The Snooze

Releases

Wipe The Slate
Year: 2021
Type: Album
That's A Fact!
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem