27 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Will McClean - EP Review: Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery

06 Nov 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery EP is a hat tip to live hip-hop. The band is super tight with wonderful guitar licks working wonderfully over top of the rhythm section. The live, clean and almost dry sounding (no reverb) of Will McClean rhymes is wonderfully mixed here. It offers the listener a chance to just sit back and soak up all the magic that appears here. Like the keys solo during Young Jedi, where Will steps right back and lets the music do the talking, that is tasty.

To add to that, Will's flow feels real and authentic, it would appeal to a large audience. I can't help but notice a little influence from Tom of Home Brew, one of my favourite NZ hip-hop artists. Will isn't afraid to put his thoughts on the tracks, and knows exactly when to just back off and let the music finish what his vocal starts. Again this is noted on It Is What It Is, when Will speaks about life and the struggles we face but that he uses his words as paint to illustrate his feelings. "It is just businesses playing us like instruments." Nice line. The guitar melody after his verse here is so wonderful, the bass holding it down until we get to where the keys come in and take over, the dynamics soft in order to build up. These are signs that Will and The Zooks have a really good idea about how to use music as a way to just let go and go with the flow. This song would be incredible live.

Straight after this though, we pick up with a more upbeat guitar for the single Thinking Of You, his track about climate change, a cry for help, a message for the future generations. Again, more tasty guitar solos to boot and a solid rhythm section.

Finishing the EP is the grooving half time feel of Still. A perfect way to finish the EP. There's lots to like here. Just pop some headphones on and go listen. Incredible.

Easily one of the best hip-hop EPs I have heard in ages. Great live production and sound. The performances are fantastic. Absolutely check this one out.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Will McClean

Will McClean is a Hip-Hop artist from Wellington, New Zealand.

Will McClean has been gaining traction around the country over the past two years as vocalist/rapper from Wellington band, The Zooks.

McClean’s rap style is mellow but precise; taking time to say what matters; and by taking a look through his discography you’ll find a blend of conscious lyrics over smooth instrumentals; mixed in with the occasional heavier hip-hop track.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will McClean

Releases

Live At The Surgery
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Can't Sleep, I'm Dreaming
Year: 2020
Type: Album
The Calm Before The Now
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem