29 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Imperial Slave - Album Review: Imperial Slave

04 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Sam Sheppard is probably best thought of as the powering drummer for the likes of 8 Foot Sativa and Sinate, and now he is back with his latest project, Imperial Slave. This time around, as well as providing drums on the album, he is also the lead singer and main songwriter. He has been joined by Isaac Lundy (guitar), Anthony Hati (guitar) and Achilles Manley (bass) while Matt Wright will be providing drums onstage so that Sam can concentrate on his new role as frontman. Even before I started listening to this, I knew we were in for something epic, just from seeing the cover design from Barny Bewick at Indium Design (Alien Weaponry, Devilskin, Sir Dave Dobbyn). The artwork took me back in time, and so does the music, as this could have come straight out of the Eighties.

What we have here is very clean thrash/melodic death crossover, where the production allows for clear separation between the instruments while also allowing them to come at the listener like a runaway freight train. There is quite a contrast between Sam’s gruff vocals and the guitars which have little in the way of effects, but rather rely on fast picking and powerful interplay. Sam has been pounding up a storm with various very heavy bands over the years, and his approach reminds me of Gene Hoglan in that the guitarists must keep up with the intricacies of what is happening behind the kit, where there is a great deal of finesse as well as plenty of double kicks when the time is right. Achilles allows himself to provide some powering bass lines, not only sitting behind the guitars to add additional depth to their approach but also putting in his own melodies which can be in stark contrast (An Gorta Mor has some especially fine examples of this). Then we have the twin guitar attack of Isaac and Anthony who come at us like a mix of Testament and Exodus, with hints of Mustaine but also bringing in elements of Cannibal Corpse when the time is right, but always with a very clean style. Fear and Hate shows them switching things around, throwing it all in a melting pot and seeing what comes out the other side. The band provides a huge contrast to the rough and raw vocals, and the result is incredibly powerful.

Here we have a band who have produced a debut which sounds as it has come out of an American studio, from a group signed to a label such as Nuclear Blast or Napalm, when in reality it was recorded at The Stomach in Palmerston North with Sam producing and Nigel Mauchline mixing and mastering and is an independent release. This really does not seem like a local Kiwi band, but one which is destined for the international stage and plenty of touring. I can certainly see these guys hitting the European festival circuit when they are able to get over, but until then I would be satisfied with seeing these guys play in Auckland if we ever get out of lockdown, as if the album is as powerful as this what on earth are they going to be like in concert? Definitely one for metalheads to discover.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Imperial Slave

Formed by Sinate and ex-8 Foot Sativa drummer Sam Sheppard in Palmerston North with local musicians from Deaths Door, Reignmaker, Skitz Hydro and Decoma.

Imperial Slave was formed in 2020 and released their first self-titled album in 2021.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Imperial Slave

Releases

There are no releases to display for Imperial Slave.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem