17 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Imperial Slave - Album Review: Imperial Slave

04 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Sam Sheppard is probably best thought of as the powering drummer for the likes of 8 Foot Sativa and Sinate, and now he is back with his latest project, Imperial Slave. This time around, as well as providing drums on the album, he is also the lead singer and main songwriter. He has been joined by Isaac Lundy (guitar), Anthony Hati (guitar) and Achilles Manley (bass) while Matt Wright will be providing drums onstage so that Sam can concentrate on his new role as frontman. Even before I started listening to this, I knew we were in for something epic, just from seeing the cover design from Barny Bewick at Indium Design (Alien Weaponry, Devilskin, Sir Dave Dobbyn). The artwork took me back in time, and so does the music, as this could have come straight out of the Eighties.

What we have here is very clean thrash/melodic death crossover, where the production allows for clear separation between the instruments while also allowing them to come at the listener like a runaway freight train. There is quite a contrast between Sam’s gruff vocals and the guitars which have little in the way of effects, but rather rely on fast picking and powerful interplay. Sam has been pounding up a storm with various very heavy bands over the years, and his approach reminds me of Gene Hoglan in that the guitarists must keep up with the intricacies of what is happening behind the kit, where there is a great deal of finesse as well as plenty of double kicks when the time is right. Achilles allows himself to provide some powering bass lines, not only sitting behind the guitars to add additional depth to their approach but also putting in his own melodies which can be in stark contrast (An Gorta Mor has some especially fine examples of this). Then we have the twin guitar attack of Isaac and Anthony who come at us like a mix of Testament and Exodus, with hints of Mustaine but also bringing in elements of Cannibal Corpse when the time is right, but always with a very clean style. Fear and Hate shows them switching things around, throwing it all in a melting pot and seeing what comes out the other side. The band provides a huge contrast to the rough and raw vocals, and the result is incredibly powerful.

Here we have a band who have produced a debut which sounds as it has come out of an American studio, from a group signed to a label such as Nuclear Blast or Napalm, when in reality it was recorded at The Stomach in Palmerston North with Sam producing and Nigel Mauchline mixing and mastering and is an independent release. This really does not seem like a local Kiwi band, but one which is destined for the international stage and plenty of touring. I can certainly see these guys hitting the European festival circuit when they are able to get over, but until then I would be satisfied with seeing these guys play in Auckland if we ever get out of lockdown, as if the album is as powerful as this what on earth are they going to be like in concert? Definitely one for metalheads to discover.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Imperial Slave

Formed by Sinate and ex-8 Foot Sativa drummer Sam Sheppard in Palmerston North with local musicians from Deaths Door, Reignmaker, Skitz Hydro and Decoma.

Imperial Slave was formed in 2020 and released their first self-titled album in 2021.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Imperial Slave

Releases

There are no releases to display for Imperial Slave.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem