11 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Imperial Slave - Album Review: Imperial Slave

04 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Sam Sheppard is probably best thought of as the powering drummer for the likes of 8 Foot Sativa and Sinate, and now he is back with his latest project, Imperial Slave. This time around, as well as providing drums on the album, he is also the lead singer and main songwriter. He has been joined by Isaac Lundy (guitar), Anthony Hati (guitar) and Achilles Manley (bass) while Matt Wright will be providing drums onstage so that Sam can concentrate on his new role as frontman. Even before I started listening to this, I knew we were in for something epic, just from seeing the cover design from Barny Bewick at Indium Design (Alien Weaponry, Devilskin, Sir Dave Dobbyn). The artwork took me back in time, and so does the music, as this could have come straight out of the Eighties.

What we have here is very clean thrash/melodic death crossover, where the production allows for clear separation between the instruments while also allowing them to come at the listener like a runaway freight train. There is quite a contrast between Sam’s gruff vocals and the guitars which have little in the way of effects, but rather rely on fast picking and powerful interplay. Sam has been pounding up a storm with various very heavy bands over the years, and his approach reminds me of Gene Hoglan in that the guitarists must keep up with the intricacies of what is happening behind the kit, where there is a great deal of finesse as well as plenty of double kicks when the time is right. Achilles allows himself to provide some powering bass lines, not only sitting behind the guitars to add additional depth to their approach but also putting in his own melodies which can be in stark contrast (An Gorta Mor has some especially fine examples of this). Then we have the twin guitar attack of Isaac and Anthony who come at us like a mix of Testament and Exodus, with hints of Mustaine but also bringing in elements of Cannibal Corpse when the time is right, but always with a very clean style. Fear and Hate shows them switching things around, throwing it all in a melting pot and seeing what comes out the other side. The band provides a huge contrast to the rough and raw vocals, and the result is incredibly powerful.

Here we have a band who have produced a debut which sounds as it has come out of an American studio, from a group signed to a label such as Nuclear Blast or Napalm, when in reality it was recorded at The Stomach in Palmerston North with Sam producing and Nigel Mauchline mixing and mastering and is an independent release. This really does not seem like a local Kiwi band, but one which is destined for the international stage and plenty of touring. I can certainly see these guys hitting the European festival circuit when they are able to get over, but until then I would be satisfied with seeing these guys play in Auckland if we ever get out of lockdown, as if the album is as powerful as this what on earth are they going to be like in concert? Definitely one for metalheads to discover.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Imperial Slave

Formed by Sinate and ex-8 Foot Sativa drummer Sam Sheppard in Palmerston North with local musicians from Deaths Door, Reignmaker, Skitz Hydro and Decoma.

Imperial Slave was formed in 2020 and released their first self-titled album in 2021.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Imperial Slave

Releases

There are no releases to display for Imperial Slave.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem