29 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Something Zesty - Single / Video Review: Footprintz

03 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Something Zesty are back with their fifth single, Footprintz, which sees the vocal debut of Isaac Chamberlain. This sees the duo of Isaac and Andrew Conlon move away from heavy funk they have become renowned for, and instead strip their music down to its most basic, guitar and voice. Isaac originally recorded all the parts quite some time ago, but Andrew plays it all throughout their tracks, more of a producing duo at this stage. They’ve also recently started practising for live shows with Ethan Coleman coming in on drums. But this song is all about a totally different vibe for them, taking it slow and almost ambient at times. It has a real under-produced feel to it which must be deliberate, meaning that it is almost lo-fi with a demo feel yet the guitar is still very clear and clean.

This is indie singer/songwriter, with links to alt folk, and feels strangely organic with a naïve honesty. While the strummed guitar contains strength, the vocals are fragile, and this coming together works well. The video was recorded in Ohakune/Mt. Ruapehu and finds the guys stopping to sing and play guitar, and at other times just going for a tramp in the snow and enjoying the outdoors. Directed again by Joshua Dey, who has worked with them on other videos, this is a low-key affair which ties in well with the low-key music. While basic, there is a rough and raw draw within this that keeps the listener intrigued until the end. The guys are currently 3/4 through season 2 of their “speed cooking online series” where they make a song each week and a video in the studio which should lead to another EP/Album which is due out in January.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Something Zesty

Something Zesty is the imaginative and energetic cartoon-musical adventure created by Isaac Chamberlain in his bedroom studio in Whanganui. Making full use of Isaac's knack for illustration and galaxy bending musical creation, Something Zesty follows the adventures of 'chambzy' and his partner-in-funk 'Zestro' as they explore the galaxy of music searching for planet Zest. From the valleys of Mars sculpted by punk rock to the laser beamed anthems of the beep pop techno dimension, Something Zesty is Isaac's mission to add free flowing funk to a chaotic world. All zest no stress!




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Something Zesty

Releases

Funk't Up
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem