30 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Something Zesty - Single / Video Review: Footprintz

03 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Something Zesty are back with their fifth single, Footprintz, which sees the vocal debut of Isaac Chamberlain. This sees the duo of Isaac and Andrew Conlon move away from heavy funk they have become renowned for, and instead strip their music down to its most basic, guitar and voice. Isaac originally recorded all the parts quite some time ago, but Andrew plays it all throughout their tracks, more of a producing duo at this stage. They’ve also recently started practising for live shows with Ethan Coleman coming in on drums. But this song is all about a totally different vibe for them, taking it slow and almost ambient at times. It has a real under-produced feel to it which must be deliberate, meaning that it is almost lo-fi with a demo feel yet the guitar is still very clear and clean.

This is indie singer/songwriter, with links to alt folk, and feels strangely organic with a naïve honesty. While the strummed guitar contains strength, the vocals are fragile, and this coming together works well. The video was recorded in Ohakune/Mt. Ruapehu and finds the guys stopping to sing and play guitar, and at other times just going for a tramp in the snow and enjoying the outdoors. Directed again by Joshua Dey, who has worked with them on other videos, this is a low-key affair which ties in well with the low-key music. While basic, there is a rough and raw draw within this that keeps the listener intrigued until the end. The guys are currently 3/4 through season 2 of their “speed cooking online series” where they make a song each week and a video in the studio which should lead to another EP/Album which is due out in January.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Something Zesty

Something Zesty is the imaginative and energetic cartoon-musical adventure created by Isaac Chamberlain in his bedroom studio in Whanganui. Making full use of Isaac's knack for illustration and galaxy bending musical creation, Something Zesty follows the adventures of 'chambzy' and his partner-in-funk 'Zestro' as they explore the galaxy of music searching for planet Zest. From the valleys of Mars sculpted by punk rock to the laser beamed anthems of the beep pop techno dimension, Something Zesty is Isaac's mission to add free flowing funk to a chaotic world. All zest no stress!




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Something Zesty

Releases

Funk't Up
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem