17 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

False Heights - Single Review: Inhale

03 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Inhale is the third single from Taupo based duo False Heights, April Pirie (vocals, keyboards) and Ashley Pirie (drums, guitars, vocals). They say they are inspired by a wide range of artists (Jimmy Eat World, The Cranberries, Taylor Swift, Bring Me The Horizon, Sigrid, Blink 182, Lorde etc.) and they like to mix together many forms of music with a pop sensibility. For this release they have brought in a substantial amount of upbeat reggae but temper it with plenty of pop which reminds me of a female-led commercial version of classic UB40, except with just two musicians.  It must be said that it doesn’t start well, with some rather twee keyboard sounds which makes me think of an Eighties video game. The guitar comes in over the top, and soon we are into something which is far more interesting.

It is always nice to hear a duo using acoustic drums as opposed to a drum machine, and this helps give the reggae a nice solid foundation, while Ashley also has a warm and rhythmic touch on the bass. He also provides some nice jagged and jangly guitars (we even get a small but perfectly formed solo), while April provides the underlying melody, often holding down chords which allow the rest of the music to layer on top. While the accompaniment is pleasant, what lifts this are the melodic, clean, and clear vocals of April which are poppy, yet also have a realistic edge to them as they have not been smoothed too much. The vocals have deliberately been placed right at the foreground, yet all instruments are clearly defined which really adds to the clarity and punch, with the song becoming far punkier until it climaxes. It ends with the same dated sounds it begins with, and to be honest I could have done without them altogether, but the rest of the song is pleasant and surely destined to be a Summery radio hit.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About False Heights

Taupo based duo False Heights have been writing infectious pop bops since they accidentally started jamming together in 2016. United by a mutual love for storytelling and their eclectic tastes in music, April Pirie (vocals/keys) and Ashley Pirie (drums/guitars/vocals) display an uncanny chemistry, co creating an adventurous sound and delivering high energy performances.

Deriving their name from a T-shirt slogan and the suburb they lived in at the time, False Heights, came about because of an old inside joke that they were the ‘typical’ local musicians living in a low rent house on a high rent street. Influenced by an array of artists, (Jimmy Eat World, The Cranberries, Taylor Swift, Bring Me The Horizon, Sigrid, Blink 182, Lorde, and the list goes on...), the duo's upcoming EP due for release in Spring 2021, boasts elements of punk, reggae, rock and a huge helping of pure unapologetic ‘mainstream’ pop.

The duo first gained attention in 2018 with their debut EP No? Who…? which shot to the top of the official NZ heatseekers chart the first week of it’s release. A hit with critics and fans alike, the six track EP served as a perfect introduction to this promising young duo. They spent the ensuing years performing around New Zealand while continuing to add new flourishes to their style.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for False Heights

Releases

No? Who...?
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem