29 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

False Heights - Single Review: Inhale

03 Nov 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Inhale is the third single from Taupo based duo False Heights, April Pirie (vocals, keyboards) and Ashley Pirie (drums, guitars, vocals). They say they are inspired by a wide range of artists (Jimmy Eat World, The Cranberries, Taylor Swift, Bring Me The Horizon, Sigrid, Blink 182, Lorde etc.) and they like to mix together many forms of music with a pop sensibility. For this release they have brought in a substantial amount of upbeat reggae but temper it with plenty of pop which reminds me of a female-led commercial version of classic UB40, except with just two musicians.  It must be said that it doesn’t start well, with some rather twee keyboard sounds which makes me think of an Eighties video game. The guitar comes in over the top, and soon we are into something which is far more interesting.

It is always nice to hear a duo using acoustic drums as opposed to a drum machine, and this helps give the reggae a nice solid foundation, while Ashley also has a warm and rhythmic touch on the bass. He also provides some nice jagged and jangly guitars (we even get a small but perfectly formed solo), while April provides the underlying melody, often holding down chords which allow the rest of the music to layer on top. While the accompaniment is pleasant, what lifts this are the melodic, clean, and clear vocals of April which are poppy, yet also have a realistic edge to them as they have not been smoothed too much. The vocals have deliberately been placed right at the foreground, yet all instruments are clearly defined which really adds to the clarity and punch, with the song becoming far punkier until it climaxes. It ends with the same dated sounds it begins with, and to be honest I could have done without them altogether, but the rest of the song is pleasant and surely destined to be a Summery radio hit.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About False Heights

Taupo based duo False Heights have been writing infectious pop bops since they accidentally started jamming together in 2016. United by a mutual love for storytelling and their eclectic tastes in music, April Pirie (vocals/keys) and Ashley Pirie (drums/guitars/vocals) display an uncanny chemistry, co creating an adventurous sound and delivering high energy performances.

Deriving their name from a T-shirt slogan and the suburb they lived in at the time, False Heights, came about because of an old inside joke that they were the ‘typical’ local musicians living in a low rent house on a high rent street. Influenced by an array of artists, (Jimmy Eat World, The Cranberries, Taylor Swift, Bring Me The Horizon, Sigrid, Blink 182, Lorde, and the list goes on...), the duo's upcoming EP due for release in Spring 2021, boasts elements of punk, reggae, rock and a huge helping of pure unapologetic ‘mainstream’ pop.

The duo first gained attention in 2018 with their debut EP No? Who…? which shot to the top of the official NZ heatseekers chart the first week of it’s release. A hit with critics and fans alike, the six track EP served as a perfect introduction to this promising young duo. They spent the ensuing years performing around New Zealand while continuing to add new flourishes to their style.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for False Heights

Releases

No? Who...?
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem