29 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

This Silent Divide - EP Review: Tall Stories

31 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Wellington-based melodic rock band This Silent Divide last month when they released the excellent single Lucinda, so when I heard they would be playing in Auckland and also releasing an EP I of course signed up for both. While the gig may have been postponed due to a certain lockdown (hopefully they will make it up here next year), the 4-track EP has still been released, which is what I am now listening to. Formed in 2018, the band comprises Shaun Jones (vocals, guitar), Kieran Williams (lead guitar, backing vocals), Peter Stitt (bass, backing vocals), and Sunil Jolly (drums), and they kick up a mighty fun melodic rock sound which is bound to get people moving.

In My Life kicks off with just one riffing distorted guitar in the background until the rest of the guys join in, and it is packed full of energy, so much so that I soon realized just how much they were reminding me of Dead Favours. There is a pop element to this as well, so there are times when it is just one guitar, with Sunil hitting the snare with both sticks at the same time, and the swapping of riffs between speakers is an old trick but still great to hear when it is pulled off like this. Feedback and distortion lead into a short but perfectly formed guitar solo, and one can just “see” the crowd going mad at Dead Witch. The new single, Don’t Give Up, again starts with a single guitar and this has much more of an Oasis feel about it. Somehow, they manage to give us wall to wall riffs mixed with pop which takes the edge off without softening it too much, so people can mosh if they want to, as well as joining in the infectious chorus. This song has a lot of contrast within it, with plenty of softness as well as times when both guitars are riffing hard.

Eyes has a similar repeated background riff to the song before, yet with a more jangly approach. We even get handclaps on this one, but although this does get going when it hits the chorus, the verse is missing some oomph and doesn’t have quite the same impact as the others. We end with Lucinda, a song I have raved about when it was released a single and my opinion still holds, in that it is a great track with hints of Coldplay. There is a very strong use of dynamics within this song, as well as plenty of emotion and a hugely layered arrangement which makes for a very powerful closer indeed.

Overall, this is a great introduction to the guys, and I am both looking forward to seeing them play and hopefully hearing a full album from them some time in the not-too-distant future. If you enjoy wall to wall anthemic rock that also contains pop melodies and is a guaranteed good time, then this is it.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About This Silent Divide

Formed in 2018, This Silent Divide are regulars on the Wellington live music scene, bringing their style of driving melodic rock to crowds around the city. 2021 has seen the band play a range of shows, including the iconic CubaDupa festival, before heading into the studio in June to record the Tall Stories EP.

Tall Stories features the singles Lucinda (out 1 October) and Don’t Give Up and will be released on 1 November, and supported by a 5-date North Island Tour.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for This Silent Divide

Releases

Tall Stories
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem