17 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

This Silent Divide - EP Review: Tall Stories

31 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Wellington-based melodic rock band This Silent Divide last month when they released the excellent single Lucinda, so when I heard they would be playing in Auckland and also releasing an EP I of course signed up for both. While the gig may have been postponed due to a certain lockdown (hopefully they will make it up here next year), the 4-track EP has still been released, which is what I am now listening to. Formed in 2018, the band comprises Shaun Jones (vocals, guitar), Kieran Williams (lead guitar, backing vocals), Peter Stitt (bass, backing vocals), and Sunil Jolly (drums), and they kick up a mighty fun melodic rock sound which is bound to get people moving.

In My Life kicks off with just one riffing distorted guitar in the background until the rest of the guys join in, and it is packed full of energy, so much so that I soon realized just how much they were reminding me of Dead Favours. There is a pop element to this as well, so there are times when it is just one guitar, with Sunil hitting the snare with both sticks at the same time, and the swapping of riffs between speakers is an old trick but still great to hear when it is pulled off like this. Feedback and distortion lead into a short but perfectly formed guitar solo, and one can just “see” the crowd going mad at Dead Witch. The new single, Don’t Give Up, again starts with a single guitar and this has much more of an Oasis feel about it. Somehow, they manage to give us wall to wall riffs mixed with pop which takes the edge off without softening it too much, so people can mosh if they want to, as well as joining in the infectious chorus. This song has a lot of contrast within it, with plenty of softness as well as times when both guitars are riffing hard.

Eyes has a similar repeated background riff to the song before, yet with a more jangly approach. We even get handclaps on this one, but although this does get going when it hits the chorus, the verse is missing some oomph and doesn’t have quite the same impact as the others. We end with Lucinda, a song I have raved about when it was released a single and my opinion still holds, in that it is a great track with hints of Coldplay. There is a very strong use of dynamics within this song, as well as plenty of emotion and a hugely layered arrangement which makes for a very powerful closer indeed.

Overall, this is a great introduction to the guys, and I am both looking forward to seeing them play and hopefully hearing a full album from them some time in the not-too-distant future. If you enjoy wall to wall anthemic rock that also contains pop melodies and is a guaranteed good time, then this is it.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About This Silent Divide

Formed in 2018, This Silent Divide are regulars on the Wellington live music scene, bringing their style of driving melodic rock to crowds around the city. 2021 has seen the band play a range of shows, including the iconic CubaDupa festival, before heading into the studio in June to record the Tall Stories EP.

Tall Stories features the singles Lucinda (out 1 October) and Don’t Give Up and will be released on 1 November, and supported by a 5-date North Island Tour.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for This Silent Divide

Releases

Tall Stories
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem