30 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jacquie Walters - Album Review: The Forest

31 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Jacquie Walters has been active in the folk scene for more than 30 years, firstly as part of the group Pounamu before turning solo, and now performs regularly with bassist/guitarist James Wilkinson. James appears on the final track of this album, and harp player Maria Oxnam also makes an appearance - both James and Maria played on Jacquie’s first album all the way back in 1993. The folk scene in New Zealand is fascinating in that it is often a melting pot of different styles, and actually covers a much broader base than it does in the UK for example, so when I see that an album or artist is described as being folk, I am always intrigued to hear exactly what they mean. Here we have an album that I would indeed describe as modern folk, particularly of the English persuasion, combined with Sixties-style singer-songwriter, and very pleasant it is too. Apparently, Wilkinson was also responsible for the production, and the result is an album that is incredibly clear and sonically well-balanced, so much so that one thinks they are in the room with the performers. Jacquie has a wonderfully clear voice, and tends to sing more alto than soprano, with picked guitar providing delicate accompaniment (no percussion).

The album opens with Whakatu, which sadly is the only track to feature Maria, as the gentle touch of the harp does provide some additional depth and I would have liked to have heard more of her on the album. Whakatu is the traditional name for Nelson, and much of this song is performed in Te Reo, and it is a gentle introduction, atmospheric and somehow not quite as direct as the rest of the album. From here on in much of the rest of the album follows a pattern of vocals and picked acoustic guitar, and even though I played this multiple times I found that many of the songs appeared to blur into each other. When there is a change, such as on the title track, which also has some wonderful fretless bass, it stands out even though yet again the song has a base of picked guitar on vocals. The highlight is probably the closing number, Kiss Me In The Morning, which brings in some country and American style, with a riffed acoustic as opposed to picked, the bass is back, we have additional harmony vocals, and Jacquie allows herself some freedom and it genuinely sounds like she is having fun.

Strangely, I found that if I played just one song out of the 12, then went away and came back later to another, I enjoyed the album far more. Individually each song sounds incredibly special, with Jacquie’s vocals perfectly accompanied by the instrumentation. I am sure it will be different when this album is played live, and everyone becomes lost in the moment, but even though I really wanted to enjoy this, I felt that much of it washed over me.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem