28 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bundy Lore - Album Review: Failures Peach

30 Oct 2021 // A review by Darryl Baser

Duncan Harwood (Dumb Dumb Head, Happy Hearse) releases his debut solo album Failures Peach under the moniker Bundy Lore.

I’ve heard a lot of great first albums and Failures Peach sits nicely amongst them.

Harwood showcases his top-flight musical and songwriting talents in this self-produced work.

Right from the opener Hollow Trees, I was thinking damn that’s a great rock voice, who does that remind me of? And by song four Killing House I had it. Harwood’s voice reminds me of Soundgarden’s late singer Chris Cornell. He has a similar timbre, growl and general style, which is a great thing as Cornell was an outstanding singer and frontman.

The second song, Everybody Knows is a Kimbra tune, however Duncan interprets it and makes his own very well.

In the press pack for the release it says Failures Peach was "recorded on the free recording software that comes with any Apple computer and mixed on an old Makita radio, the kind you would find kicking around on most construction sites".

But I’m calling that out as blatant hyperbole, as it sounds fabulous.

Track 6, Kind, swings into live with a jazzy soulful groove. Like with other tracks on this release, it is recorded beautifully. The following song Melancholic is a more down-beat number, which suits its title.

A few songs later Sing To The Deaf is another laid back blues ballad

Duncan Harwood is a fine songwriter with clear influences in his sound, especially vocally. The result is pure music which is heartfelt and superbly executed at the source.

Failures Peach is a quality full-length album of 13 songs of poetic Indie Pop Rock. Duncan’s songwriting is world class, but one of the stand out tracks for me is his brilliant cover of NZ songstress Kimbra’s song Everybody Knows.

There's a high possibility, you’ll love Failures Peach at first listen.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Bundy Lore

Bundy Lore is a washed up never has been.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bundy Lore

Releases

Failure's Peach
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

The New Existentialists - EP Review: Last Days of the Internet
23 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
It might seem like George D Henderson has been a part of the New Zealand music landscape for about as long as Keith Richards has been playing guitar. He’s been in the Flying Nun arena with The Puddle based in Dunedin.
Read More...
Nika - Single Review: Saviour Complex
03 Nov 2022 // by Darryl Baser
A song with an interesting title will always grab my attention, and the idea of people with a saviour complex has always fascinated me, so when the new song by Nika called Saviour Complex was offered to me to review I almost somersaulted. The song opens with a gently and alluring piano melody before Nika’s voice kicks in and from the first notes some vocal training is obvious.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Simple Things
05 Oct 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Oh My God. There are bangers then there’s this tune.
Read More...
VÏKÆ - EP Review: Love Games
25 Aug 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Veronika Bell, known to music fans as Vikae, has been composing and producing music for a good few years, and is gaining some crossover traction between the dance and pop worlds. While she writes many of her tunes on a piano, and can perform them beautifully with piano and her impressive voice, it is the dance-styled pop versions of her tune which have been garnering her acclaim.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Locksmith Thief
21 Jul 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Now that’s a great way to open an album. Bruised and Broken is the first track of Mecuzine’s new album Locksmith Thief, and my god what an epic track to open their new record.
Read More...
Geneva Waves - Single Review: Wild Arrivals
29 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Geneva Waves is a one person musical project, based in Tamaki Makaurau/Auckland. Steven Tait is the man behind the moniker, who’s produced this wonderful piece of music.
Read More...
The New Things - EP Review: Pink Chocolate
20 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
If I had to sum up The New Things four-song EP Pink Chocolate in two words they would be ‘perfectly imperfect’. The New Things are Tina McIvor and Jason Tamihana-Bryce, both have been around the indie music scene for a number of years separately and together; touring Japan a few years back.
Read More...
Tony Jacob - Single Review: Just One Step
11 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
The 2021 released single Just One Step by Tony Jacob is a sumptuously produced song, with lyrics and a very positive vibe. "You can move on mountains with just one step, you could take the world on with no regrets..
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem