10 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Rain - EP Review: No Promises

28 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Rain in August last year with the release of the debut single Forget About You, since when there has been a string of singles, all of which have been thoroughly enjoyable. Rain came to fruition when Cathy Elizabeth, lead singer of Wellington-based band No Surrender found herself in lockdown and decided to form a studio-based project with sound engineer and producer Thomas Te Taite. With Cathy providing the songs and Thomas all the instruments (plus production and mixing etc.), they released a series of singles which saw them explore different genres, before deciding that rock was where their interests best lay.

This now brings us to their new four-track EP, which includes Pretty, which was released as a single in July, and a remix of her debut single which also now has a different guitar introduction. When I first heard Rain, I said they took me back to the days of Blondie and Pat Benatar in the States, and Kim Wilde in the UK, but on reflection I believe I also need to add Joan Jett and Chrissie Hynde. This is power pop rock, the style of music which expects people to singalong and just have fun. It is not music which needs concentration and hard work, but rather music which makes the listener want to move with a smile and often this is what music should be all about. Some bands want people to think how wonderfully clever they are, whereas others are way more basic and appeal to different needs. This comes through really strongly on Pretty, where the verse and chorus is almost commercial punk, and when it came to the run out I found myself thinking, “Surely they won’t” but yes they did, and we get a homage to one of the most essential punk numbers of all time.

Sixteen minutes of escapism, with a woman at the front who can sing sweetly or slide with an edge as she does on Uh Oh!, while the guitars are being riffed in a way which would never offend anyone, but has just enough bite to provide Cathy something to work with. The only place where this falls down somewhat is with the drums, as there is no real substitute for a sweaty human, and I would love to hear how this would come across with a power drummer like Neo Lee at the helm. But as it stands, this is a great collection of songs, with closer Forget About You being an absolute delight. It rocks, it rolls, and one can imagine Pat Benatar taking this to the top of the American charts. If you have yet to come across the delights of Rain, then this EP is the place to start.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Rain

Wellington solo artist Cathy Elizabeth, releasing and performing by the name Rain, is difficult to pin down to a specific genre. Rain’s work encompasses many different flavours and styles, due to a lifetime's worth of musical influences, but all wrapped around that singer-songwriter heart. From hook-laden urban-bohemian feels to uplifting rock riffs, reggae grooves, and fresh-faced be-bop, her vocals can be as sweet and vulnerable in one song as they are powerful and seductive in the next. Rain radiates a unique kind of sincerity, as she writes from the heart. Her music crosses many musical genres, and is written about her real and lived experience, so is likely to resonate with a wide audience.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Rain

Releases

Every Minute, Every Day
Year: 2021
Type: EP
No Promises
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Thinking Foxes - Single Review: Bleached
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Thinking Foxes are an Auckland-based alternative rock trio who are new to me, comprising Gabriel Parkins Craig (vocals, guitar), Luca Garcia Ferrari (bass), and Noah Page (drums). Bleached is their debut single and based on this I am somewhat surprised to have not seen them on the circuit, or even come across their name, as this is polished and full of confidence and never sounds as if it is their first release.
Read More...
James Kohler - Single Review: Lights Out
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As a rule, I read press releases after I have been listening to the music, but as well as Lisa sending me this to review, I was also sent it today by the PR company and I read that email before I realised it was on my list. However, my interest was already piqued as James Kohler is described as an “independent prog artist”.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - Single Review: War Cry
05 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Given the age of these guys, it is somewhat difficult to realise that this line-up has been together since 2009 when Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals) joined forces with Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums). In 2021 they released the excellent Deceit EP, and here at the end of 2022 they are back with their latest single, War Cry which has just blown me away.
Read More...
Gig Review: LIIT @ Morningside 605, Auckland - 3/12/2022
04 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often I can say I am at a venue for the first time, but this is indeed the first time I have attended the small but perfectly formed venue which is Morningside 605. I had made my way over to this side of Auckland, and had to park miles away due to Billy Joel playing at Eden Park on the same night, to catch the infamous LIIT and have a party.
Read More...
KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem