3 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Rain - EP Review: No Promises

28 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Rain in August last year with the release of the debut single Forget About You, since when there has been a string of singles, all of which have been thoroughly enjoyable. Rain came to fruition when Cathy Elizabeth, lead singer of Wellington-based band No Surrender found herself in lockdown and decided to form a studio-based project with sound engineer and producer Thomas Te Taite. With Cathy providing the songs and Thomas all the instruments (plus production and mixing etc.), they released a series of singles which saw them explore different genres, before deciding that rock was where their interests best lay.

This now brings us to their new four-track EP, which includes Pretty, which was released as a single in July, and a remix of her debut single which also now has a different guitar introduction. When I first heard Rain, I said they took me back to the days of Blondie and Pat Benatar in the States, and Kim Wilde in the UK, but on reflection I believe I also need to add Joan Jett and Chrissie Hynde. This is power pop rock, the style of music which expects people to singalong and just have fun. It is not music which needs concentration and hard work, but rather music which makes the listener want to move with a smile and often this is what music should be all about. Some bands want people to think how wonderfully clever they are, whereas others are way more basic and appeal to different needs. This comes through really strongly on Pretty, where the verse and chorus is almost commercial punk, and when it came to the run out I found myself thinking, “Surely they won’t” but yes they did, and we get a homage to one of the most essential punk numbers of all time.

Sixteen minutes of escapism, with a woman at the front who can sing sweetly or slide with an edge as she does on Uh Oh!, while the guitars are being riffed in a way which would never offend anyone, but has just enough bite to provide Cathy something to work with. The only place where this falls down somewhat is with the drums, as there is no real substitute for a sweaty human, and I would love to hear how this would come across with a power drummer like Neo Lee at the helm. But as it stands, this is a great collection of songs, with closer Forget About You being an absolute delight. It rocks, it rolls, and one can imagine Pat Benatar taking this to the top of the American charts. If you have yet to come across the delights of Rain, then this EP is the place to start.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Rain

Wellington solo artist Cathy Elizabeth, releasing and performing by the name Rain, is difficult to pin down to a specific genre. Rain’s work encompasses many different flavours and styles, due to a lifetime's worth of musical influences, but all wrapped around that singer-songwriter heart. From hook-laden urban-bohemian feels to uplifting rock riffs, reggae grooves, and fresh-faced be-bop, her vocals can be as sweet and vulnerable in one song as they are powerful and seductive in the next. Rain radiates a unique kind of sincerity, as she writes from the heart. Her music crosses many musical genres, and is written about her real and lived experience, so is likely to resonate with a wide audience.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Rain

Releases

Every Minute, Every Day
Year: 2021
Type: EP
No Promises
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Mahoney Harris - Single Review: Band in Town
02 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Band In Town is the latest single from folk/pop singer Mahoney Harris. Inspired by memories of her mum and friends getting ready for nights out, the cover actually features both her mother (on the left) and her godmother.
Read More...
Lazy Fifty - Album Review: 2021: A Lazy Odyssey
01 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lazy Fifty are Adrian Athy (vocals, guitar), Ryan Raggett (bass), and Ali Sochacki (drums), and they play traditional solid Seventies-style melodic hard rock. This is their fourth album, and to put is simple is an absolute blast from start to finish and a load of fun.
Read More...
How To Escape Reality - Single Review: Not Another Pop Punk Christmas
30 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
How To Escape Reality were formed in 2020, by songwriter Samuel Fistonich with the help of his brothers and his wife to create music which was heavily influenced from the Emo and pop punk movement. Samuel and his family grew up in China, and this song was written with Mason May, a friend of the band from those days.
Read More...
A Radical Sun - Single Review: Love Shakes
28 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Everyone in Auckland has been incredibly frustrated with the lockdown which has now stretched past 100 days, impacting everyone inside the borders. Obviously one group which have been unable to work are the gigging musicians, which has seen some of them go into the studio or even start new projects.
Read More...
Single/Video Review: The Not Okays - Bite Me
28 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Not Okays are a band who originally formed a few years ago just to have some fun at the Emo nights put on at Ding Dong Lounge. They comprise Noriel Wong (guitar), Aaron Prictor (guitar, vocals), Lauren Kate Borhani (vocals), Caitlin Clark (bass) and Bahador Borhani (drums).
Read More...
Ellery Daines - Single Review: No-One
27 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ellery Daines is a multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, producer, and mixing engineer from Nelson, now based in the Norwegian Arctic city of Tromsø. Over the last five years he wrote, recorded, and mixed his debut album, Failure Thirty Minutes Deep, scheduled for release in 2022 and No-One is the first single and is a truly solo affair as Ellery performed all instruments and vocal parts, as well as producing and mixing the song.
Read More...
The Sam Loveridge Band - Single/Video Review: I Wanna Dance
21 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam and the guys are back with the second single from the forthcoming album, Recovery, and if ever they were looking for radio play I can pretty much guarantee this will not be getting it with this one. The simple reason is that in the key part of the chorus, people get asked to go forth and multiply, and somehow, I don’t think the mainstream are quite ready for that yet.
Read More...
Gramsci - Single/Video Review: Ourselves
18 Nov 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Gramsci last year when they released the amazing album Inheritance, which was then followed up with a theatre performance which was stunning by all accounts (I was gutted not to be able to make it). But I am very late to the piece indeed, as Gramsci are the brainchild of Paul McLaney who is so productive that he has lost count of the works he has undertaken to date.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem