4 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Rain - EP Review: No Promises

28 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Rain in August last year with the release of the debut single Forget About You, since when there has been a string of singles, all of which have been thoroughly enjoyable. Rain came to fruition when Cathy Elizabeth, lead singer of Wellington-based band No Surrender found herself in lockdown and decided to form a studio-based project with sound engineer and producer Thomas Te Taite. With Cathy providing the songs and Thomas all the instruments (plus production and mixing etc.), they released a series of singles which saw them explore different genres, before deciding that rock was where their interests best lay.

This now brings us to their new four-track EP, which includes Pretty, which was released as a single in July, and a remix of her debut single which also now has a different guitar introduction. When I first heard Rain, I said they took me back to the days of Blondie and Pat Benatar in the States, and Kim Wilde in the UK, but on reflection I believe I also need to add Joan Jett and Chrissie Hynde. This is power pop rock, the style of music which expects people to singalong and just have fun. It is not music which needs concentration and hard work, but rather music which makes the listener want to move with a smile and often this is what music should be all about. Some bands want people to think how wonderfully clever they are, whereas others are way more basic and appeal to different needs. This comes through really strongly on Pretty, where the verse and chorus is almost commercial punk, and when it came to the run out I found myself thinking, “Surely they won’t” but yes they did, and we get a homage to one of the most essential punk numbers of all time.

Sixteen minutes of escapism, with a woman at the front who can sing sweetly or slide with an edge as she does on Uh Oh!, while the guitars are being riffed in a way which would never offend anyone, but has just enough bite to provide Cathy something to work with. The only place where this falls down somewhat is with the drums, as there is no real substitute for a sweaty human, and I would love to hear how this would come across with a power drummer like Neo Lee at the helm. But as it stands, this is a great collection of songs, with closer Forget About You being an absolute delight. It rocks, it rolls, and one can imagine Pat Benatar taking this to the top of the American charts. If you have yet to come across the delights of Rain, then this EP is the place to start.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Rain

Wellington solo artist Cathy Elizabeth, releasing and performing by the name Rain, is difficult to pin down to a specific genre. Rain’s work encompasses many different flavours and styles, due to a lifetime's worth of musical influences, but all wrapped around that singer-songwriter heart. From hook-laden urban-bohemian feels to uplifting rock riffs, reggae grooves, and fresh-faced be-bop, her vocals can be as sweet and vulnerable in one song as they are powerful and seductive in the next. Rain radiates a unique kind of sincerity, as she writes from the heart. Her music crosses many musical genres, and is written about her real and lived experience, so is likely to resonate with a wide audience.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Rain

Releases

Every Minute, Every Day
Year: 2021
Type: EP
No Promises
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem