29 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mat Gat - Single Review: Washed Away

27 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

There are times when some music is so personal that the listener feels they are intruding in an area they have no right to be involved with. That is the case here, as Mat Gat and his fiancée suffered the heartbreak of a miscarriage at 3 months. A week after that, he experienced a vivid dream about a young girl, following her day until she was killed in a car accident. This dream came to him for the new few nights as well, until he felt inspired to walk on the beach, where he felt he let her go. This inspired him to write this song, telling the story, about what might have been.

I hope this was a cathartic process for him, as one can feel the emotion within the words as he accompanies himself on acoustic guitar, singing about going to the beach and how he had watched the girl. Was this a representation of what might have happened to their child if she had lived? He accompanies himself on guitar and one can imagine him performing this live in the studio, with just a few keyboards added near the end before it fades out to the sound of waves breaking on a beach. Available on Bandcamp, Mat tells the full story of what happened to his family, the dreams and what led to the recording, and one cannot help but feel empathy for what they have been through.

Consequently, I found this a difficult song to listen to, not because it is poorly sung or constructed, far from it, but rather it is a subject matter which is often hidden away as being very personal. In fact, over the many tens of thousands of songs I have reviewed over the years, I cannot recall any other dealing with this. It is a song which demands to be listened to with respect, as Mat creates an ambience and atmosphere around himself with his guitar and sings to the girl in his dream. You’re in my dreams, time to let you go. Poignant, personal and certainly emotional.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Mat Gat

Mat Gat (MJK) is a solo guitarist/ musician from Taranaki currently residing in Dunedin. Studying at the Wanganui school of music from 1999/2000 gave Mathew a strong grounding in all aspects of music theory and performance. In 2019 he was a member of Trip Change to play the New Plymouth Festival of the Lights event in January. After Covid changed the musical landscape it gave him the opportunity to focus more on his solo career.

Releasing his first single Magnetic on 02/10/2020 Recorded at Arthousemedia Studios Dunedin. Mathew's main focus and love is guitar but he enjoys a vast amount of musical styles as can be heard by his Spotify and YouTube channels. Main influences are - Stevie Ray Vaughan, Jimi Hendrix, Tool, Led Zeppelin, Portishead, Sublime, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai and many more.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mat Gat

Releases

There are no releases to display for Mat Gat.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem