17 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kevin Posey - EP Review: The Story of Francis

21 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Oklahoma native Kevin Posey lives in Auckland these days, and throughout his musical career he has investigated different types and styles of music, and for this EP he has moved into yet another area, as what we have here is classical music that has been inspired by Halloween and psychological thrillers. Some, such as Fog Forest No. 1, would work incredibly well in a film setting apart from one minor issue, in that all five songs contained on this EP are very short indeed, so much so that the total running time is less than six minutes. I found this very frustrating indeed, as every one of these pieces is dramatic and takes us on a journey, but just when one thinks we are in for a trip to a haunted castle or a creepy motel we only get as far as the garden gate and the trip is over before it has even begun.

They all have the potential to be something much longer and deeper, but feel cut off in their prime. This was sent to me to review on Soundcloud, but there is nothing to suggest these are just samples of longer tracks, and if I have the wrong link then I must apologise to Kevin. But if this really is the finished article, one must question why? There is a great deal of work which has gone into the arrangements, the sound is complex and deep, with a vibrant piano and strong orchestra while there is even some choir at times. The only time I can remember previously hearing an album quite like this was nearly 30 years ago, when the guitarist Anthony Phillips put out a release which was a collection of his library music. This was music he had recorded and made available for film makers to utilize, and it was only due to fan demand that he put some of it on an album, and it was way more interesting than it was satisfying. That is the same here, as although everything is way too short, the pieces themselves are fascinating and I want to hear a lot more.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Kevin Posey

Kevin Posey, an Oklahoma native born November 8th, 1987. Growing up, he would listen to music in the backseat of his mum's car and realise he had the ability to separate each piece and mentally re-create the sounds in a new way. This curiosity of sound and composing developed into a deeper passion leading to an associates degree in music production from the Academy of Contemporary Music at the University of Central Oklahoma.

Posey today continues to use his knack for deconstructing music to mix and master records and produce songs not only for himself, but other upcoming artists. Posey’s musical style deeply reflects being influenced by multiple genres. Now making music that traverses planes between hip-hop and melodic pop, he infuses Spanish in his lyrics which he learned as a kid growing up on the southwest side of Oklahoma City.

 

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kevin Posey

Releases

Iron Flowerz
Year: 2021
Type: EP
The Story of Francis
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Breathe
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem