29 Sep 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kevin Posey - EP Review: The Story of Francis

21 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Oklahoma native Kevin Posey lives in Auckland these days, and throughout his musical career he has investigated different types and styles of music, and for this EP he has moved into yet another area, as what we have here is classical music that has been inspired by Halloween and psychological thrillers. Some, such as Fog Forest No. 1, would work incredibly well in a film setting apart from one minor issue, in that all five songs contained on this EP are very short indeed, so much so that the total running time is less than six minutes. I found this very frustrating indeed, as every one of these pieces is dramatic and takes us on a journey, but just when one thinks we are in for a trip to a haunted castle or a creepy motel we only get as far as the garden gate and the trip is over before it has even begun.

They all have the potential to be something much longer and deeper, but feel cut off in their prime. This was sent to me to review on Soundcloud, but there is nothing to suggest these are just samples of longer tracks, and if I have the wrong link then I must apologise to Kevin. But if this really is the finished article, one must question why? There is a great deal of work which has gone into the arrangements, the sound is complex and deep, with a vibrant piano and strong orchestra while there is even some choir at times. The only time I can remember previously hearing an album quite like this was nearly 30 years ago, when the guitarist Anthony Phillips put out a release which was a collection of his library music. This was music he had recorded and made available for film makers to utilize, and it was only due to fan demand that he put some of it on an album, and it was way more interesting than it was satisfying. That is the same here, as although everything is way too short, the pieces themselves are fascinating and I want to hear a lot more.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Kevin Posey

Kevin Posey, an Oklahoma native born November 8th, 1987. Growing up, he would listen to music in the backseat of his mum's car and realise he had the ability to separate each piece and mentally re-create the sounds in a new way. This curiosity of sound and composing developed into a deeper passion leading to an associates degree in music production from the Academy of Contemporary Music at the University of Central Oklahoma.

Posey today continues to use his knack for deconstructing music to mix and master records and produce songs not only for himself, but other upcoming artists. Posey’s musical style deeply reflects being influenced by multiple genres. Now making music that traverses planes between hip-hop and melodic pop, he infuses Spanish in his lyrics which he learned as a kid growing up on the southwest side of Oklahoma City.

 

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kevin Posey

Releases

Iron Flowerz
Year: 2021
Type: EP
The Story of Francis
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Breathe
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Trepidations - EP Review: Time Flies
28 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
The latest EP from Trepidations follows a rather unusual format in that we have one vocal track which was recorded in a studio, and then three instrumental tracks which were played live which are quite different in approach and sound quality. Having not played any of their music before I must confess, I do not know if these distinctly different approaches are what one would expect from the trio, or whether one of these paths is new to them.
Read More...
John Michaelz and the Black Brothers Band - EP Review: Limited Edition
26 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that I am asked to review reggae, as it is an area which is very much a strange land to me, so I am coming at this as a straightforward listener as opposed to having any knowledge in the genre. This EP is a collection of three previously released singles, plus dub versions of the same, one of which has been broken in two to provide us with seven numbers.
Read More...
Ekko Park - EP Review: UnMute
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when it is just impossible to write a review as I am having so much fun playing the music that I find myself hitting the desk in time with the drums, bopping to the beat and fully in the groove. Then the damn thing is finished, and I have to put it on again (not really an issue) and the debacle repeats!
Read More...
Gig Review: Smokefreerockquest National Finals @ Q Theatre, Auckland - 24/09/2022
25 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I had to look up the address for Q Theatre on Google as I had never heard of it but having found it, I realized I must have been past it hundreds of times as it is right next door to Auckland Town Hall. Tonight, I was at the finals for Smokefree Rock Quest, the most important school competition for music in Aotearoa, and it would not surprise me if it was one of the longest running in the world as they were celebrating 35 years of the event.
Read More...
Gig Review: Achilles Complex @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 23/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I cannot believe I have not been at Dead Witch since the beginning of July, but there has been so much music going on that I kept having clashes. Luckily, Harley asked if I could come and see Achilles Complex quite some time back so this date was locked in.
Read More...
Planet Hunter - Album Review: Moscovium
22 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On April 19th, 2018, the Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite was launched on a two-year mission to find a rocky world with an atmosphere which could be probed for signs of life. Although it had an official name, the media just called it a planet hunter which seemed more exciting, and a Wellington rock band finally came across a name they felt was fitting for the music they were creating.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Lay It To Rest
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not unusual for me to have conversations with music lovers which revolve around me attempting to convince them there is a vibrant and exciting music scene in Aotearoa as sometimes it feels like I am coming across a wonderful new band on a daily basis, and here is another. I am sure if Medusa Glare were an Auckland act as opposed to being from the ‘Tron I would have come across them long before now, but given they were formed back in 2014 there really is no excuse on missing out on this classic hard rock band until now.
Read More...
PolarisRadio - Album Review: Legend of the Broken Claw
21 Sep 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I was not too sure what to expect from PolarisRadio, which is the pseudonym for Dean Moroney, but I am pretty sure this wasn’t it! Dean’s music is normally described as Synthwave, and in some respects that still fits as here we have an instrumental album which appears to be based on a video game, yet while there are some tracks (such as Sea of Stars) which are solidly sat within that genre, there are plenty of others which do not.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • SHUT DOWN
    BLACKPINK
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem