30 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kevin Posey - EP Review: The Story of Francis

21 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Oklahoma native Kevin Posey lives in Auckland these days, and throughout his musical career he has investigated different types and styles of music, and for this EP he has moved into yet another area, as what we have here is classical music that has been inspired by Halloween and psychological thrillers. Some, such as Fog Forest No. 1, would work incredibly well in a film setting apart from one minor issue, in that all five songs contained on this EP are very short indeed, so much so that the total running time is less than six minutes. I found this very frustrating indeed, as every one of these pieces is dramatic and takes us on a journey, but just when one thinks we are in for a trip to a haunted castle or a creepy motel we only get as far as the garden gate and the trip is over before it has even begun.

They all have the potential to be something much longer and deeper, but feel cut off in their prime. This was sent to me to review on Soundcloud, but there is nothing to suggest these are just samples of longer tracks, and if I have the wrong link then I must apologise to Kevin. But if this really is the finished article, one must question why? There is a great deal of work which has gone into the arrangements, the sound is complex and deep, with a vibrant piano and strong orchestra while there is even some choir at times. The only time I can remember previously hearing an album quite like this was nearly 30 years ago, when the guitarist Anthony Phillips put out a release which was a collection of his library music. This was music he had recorded and made available for film makers to utilize, and it was only due to fan demand that he put some of it on an album, and it was way more interesting than it was satisfying. That is the same here, as although everything is way too short, the pieces themselves are fascinating and I want to hear a lot more.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Kevin Posey

Kevin Posey, an Oklahoma native born November 8th, 1987. Growing up, he would listen to music in the backseat of his mum's car and realise he had the ability to separate each piece and mentally re-create the sounds in a new way. This curiosity of sound and composing developed into a deeper passion leading to an associates degree in music production from the Academy of Contemporary Music at the University of Central Oklahoma.

Posey today continues to use his knack for deconstructing music to mix and master records and produce songs not only for himself, but other upcoming artists. Posey’s musical style deeply reflects being influenced by multiple genres. Now making music that traverses planes between hip-hop and melodic pop, he infuses Spanish in his lyrics which he learned as a kid growing up on the southwest side of Oklahoma City.

 

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kevin Posey

Releases

Iron Flowerz
Year: 2021
Type: EP
The Story of Francis
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Breathe
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem