4 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jolandi Ford - Single Review: I'm Ready

21 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

This is Jolandi Ford’s third single since moving to Aotearoa from her native South Africa, and right from the first note one can why she has already been making a dent in international Country music charts. Although her voice is lighter in some ways, with a nice twang, her approach is quite reminiscent to the more rock-based approach of the likes of Shania Twain. It starts off gently, both lyrically and musically, but as the song progresses it becomes a song of defiance. The drums come in, the electric guitar becomes more pronounced, yet there are always the piano and acoustic guitar underlying proceedings. Her vocals are multi-tracked in the later sections, instruments are more in your face, the strings come in, and while never turning into a rocker it is definitely on the harder edge of Country.

She has a wonderful voice, airy and fresh, and I found myself wishing the song was double the length, and I can certainly imagine this becoming an anthem at concerts with everyone joining in. As Jolandi says, I’m ready! Are you ready? Are the masses ready? To get back up and fight…To forgive…To heal, turn your wounds into scars... To Let go... For whatever life throws at ya...To find redemption, where the sun is setting... To get back up!  The final chorus where she throws her voice up higher is just wonderful, and when she stops to allow the strings to gently take us out, I find myself feeling upset that it is over, so all I can do is play it again. It is a song full of summer, perfect for the radio, for singing along with in the car and is just plain fun. The accompaniment is superb, with just the right amount of build and edge, and special mention must be made of the drums which do not feature at all in the beginning, are basic in the middle, then driving and all over the kit by the end.

This is my first introduction to Jolandi, and I am looking forward to hearing a great deal more as this is a wonderful modern country rock pop number.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Jolandi Ford

Josie Music Award Nominee 2021 - Jolandi Ford is a South African born singing artist residing in New Zealand. She grew up in a very musically talented family where most of her family members are musicians. She always loved singing and performing from a very young age. She won the Boksburg Idols singing competition in 2012, reached top 4 in East Rand got talent, Top 40 on X-Factor South Africa 2014 and featured on numerous compilation albums. After the launch of her first debut album Vang My (an Afrikaans & English mixed album) in 2013, her singing career picked up fast. Her country songs have been playing on International radio stations globally.

Jolandi Ford launched three new single releases in New Zealand since November 2020 with a brand new single release 'I'm Ready' launching on the 22’nd of October 2021. Jolandi is aiming to create a new beautiful blending Contemporary sound in the Modern Country genre.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jolandi Ford

Releases

There are no releases to display for Jolandi Ford.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

EP Review: Ange.Mac + Shaun Garea
03 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
What we have here is the debut collaboration from Ange.Mac and Shaun Garea.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pale Flag @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/07/2022
02 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight, I was supposed to be at The Tuning Fork for Ekko Park and Jordan Luck but the dreaded Covid had cast its spell and the gig was cancelled earlier in the week. I did a quick check to see what was on at Dead Witch and discovered there was a four-band bill and knowing three of them I could see it was going to be a good night so decided to head that way.
Read More...
Ayla Wesley - Single Review: Say To Me
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Normally, when I am reviewing singles for MNZ the turnaround time we work to is 7 days and it is not unusual for me to work on far tighter deadlines than that, but Ayla was incredibly well organised with the promotion for her second single, and I have been playing this for the last 3 weeks at least. In that time it has become a real earworm, and I have even found myself singing it as I walk around (not a pleasant experience for anyone in the vicinity, let me assure you).
Read More...
Ed Waaka - Single Review: E Kura
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It did not take long for me to fall in love with this song, probably the first 30 seconds I guess, as there is something about it which grabs hold the listener, puts them in a safe place, and lets the singer bare their soul. Soul, yes, this is full of it in a musical sense as well as an emotional one, and when I discovered he was singing about the upcoming birth of his first daughter, whether he would be a good father, and the need to reconnect to his Maori heritage it made a great deal of sense.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - Single Review: Crush
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the lead single from Danica Bryant’s forthcoming EP, Ego Death, and if this is fully representative, then that is something to look out for. For a young artist she has already had considerable success, mentoring with Bic Runga while also gaining a support slot for Elton John on his ‘Farewell Yellow Brick Road’ tour, and while she has already tasted success on the NZ Hot Singles Chart, I am sure this is going to head the same way.
Read More...
Tia Ward - EP Review: Me and Me Too
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut EP from Hawkes Bay singer Tia Ward, following on from two singles which were released ahead of time, Under Wraps and Paint Dry, both of which are included here. The first thing which the listener notices are her vocals, which are both understated yet firmly to the fore.
Read More...
Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem