23 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jolandi Ford - Single Review: I'm Ready

21 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

This is Jolandi Ford’s third single since moving to Aotearoa from her native South Africa, and right from the first note one can why she has already been making a dent in international Country music charts. Although her voice is lighter in some ways, with a nice twang, her approach is quite reminiscent to the more rock-based approach of the likes of Shania Twain. It starts off gently, both lyrically and musically, but as the song progresses it becomes a song of defiance. The drums come in, the electric guitar becomes more pronounced, yet there are always the piano and acoustic guitar underlying proceedings. Her vocals are multi-tracked in the later sections, instruments are more in your face, the strings come in, and while never turning into a rocker it is definitely on the harder edge of Country.

She has a wonderful voice, airy and fresh, and I found myself wishing the song was double the length, and I can certainly imagine this becoming an anthem at concerts with everyone joining in. As Jolandi says, I’m ready! Are you ready? Are the masses ready? To get back up and fight…To forgive…To heal, turn your wounds into scars... To Let go... For whatever life throws at ya...To find redemption, where the sun is setting... To get back up!  The final chorus where she throws her voice up higher is just wonderful, and when she stops to allow the strings to gently take us out, I find myself feeling upset that it is over, so all I can do is play it again. It is a song full of summer, perfect for the radio, for singing along with in the car and is just plain fun. The accompaniment is superb, with just the right amount of build and edge, and special mention must be made of the drums which do not feature at all in the beginning, are basic in the middle, then driving and all over the kit by the end.

This is my first introduction to Jolandi, and I am looking forward to hearing a great deal more as this is a wonderful modern country rock pop number.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Jolandi Ford

Josie Music Award Nominee 2021 - Jolandi Ford is a South African born singing artist residing in New Zealand. She grew up in a very musically talented family where most of her family members are musicians. She always loved singing and performing from a very young age. She won the Boksburg Idols singing competition in 2012, reached top 4 in East Rand got talent, Top 40 on X-Factor South Africa 2014 and featured on numerous compilation albums. After the launch of her first debut album Vang My (an Afrikaans & English mixed album) in 2013, her singing career picked up fast. Her country songs have been playing on International radio stations globally.

Jolandi Ford launched three new single releases in New Zealand since November 2020 with a brand new single release 'I'm Ready' launching on the 22’nd of October 2021. Jolandi is aiming to create a new beautiful blending Contemporary sound in the Modern Country genre.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jolandi Ford

Releases

There are no releases to display for Jolandi Ford.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem