16 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eurenza - EP Review: Good Luck... You're Gonna Need It

19 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Eurenza were originally formed seven years ago as Timeless, but eventually decided to go with a more uncommon name, and now have delivered their first five-track EP. Interestingly, much of this was recorded some time ago in preparation for an album, but they instead decided to go with the strongest tracks instead and cut it back. Only the lead guitar was recorded in 2021, with the bass recoded as long ago as 2018. Mind you, even that isn’t long enough to go back to where this music has its roots, as what we have here is music from the beginning of thrash, just as it was coming out of NWOBHM. There is no doubt they have been heavily influenced by early Metallica and Exodus (in particular), but they sound more as if they are being influenced by the same bands that influenced those acts, such as Diamond Head and Blitzkrieg.

There is that rough and raw approach, when volume and balls were as important as speed, just as metal was starting to subdivide and no-one knew just what was going to happen moving forward. It is on songs such as Life and Death, where they inject more energy and passion, that this band really comes alive, and one can easily imagine them on the same bill as Just One Fix ensuring all the local metalheads give themselves neck ache. This is fast and powerful, yet also with some nice guitar harmonies, while there are some additional overlays and melodic changes within this that really makes the listener pay close attention.

Strangely, the opener King of Kings is by far the slowest song on the EP, and to my ears is not the best reflection of the band. It is probably their heaviest, and certainly the most Metallica influenced number on the EP, yet is probably my least favourite. However, when NWOBHM hit in 1979 I was 16 years old, so I literally cut my metal teeth on the genre, with my first ever metal band being Tygers of Pan Tang when they supported Saxon, and I was soon out again to see Budgie and Vardis and every other metal band I could. This means I played this EP with a massive smile on my face, as songs like Die For No Man took me back to a time when metal was a simpler beast in many ways, and these guys have perfectly nailed it. If you want that early thrash sound, but delivered with modern production, then this is something you need to discover. Play loud.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Eurenza

Eurenza is a 4-piece metal band based in Auckland.

Eurenza stands out from the crowd with their unique, modern spin on the old-school Thrash of the 80's. Eurenza seeks to bring the neck-snapping energy back to the masses with their undying passion for playing faster, louder, and heavier with each song.

Eurenza entered the studio to begin forging their sound with a selection of original songs. By September of 2021, an incredibly strong 5 track EP was unleashed on the world – Good Luck… You’re Gonna Need It.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eurenza

Releases

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Scapegoat - Album Review: Reality and the Hanging Tree
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Rene Black can often be found out and about on the Auckland scene, either playing in the premier NZ Sabbath tribute band After Forever, or just supporting other bands and enjoying the vibe. We regularly bump into each other at our favourite dive, Ding Dong Lounge, but whereas that is a relatively new place for me, Rene has been on the circuit for years as he was also drummer and founding member of both His Masters Voice and {Cripple Mr.
Read More...
Caitlin - EP Review: States
12 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from young Christchurch-based indie-pop musician Caitlin (Caitlin Bradley) who is currently studying at Ara Music Arts in the city. She took the songs to Ryan Chin (Fisherman), and together with Will McGillivray (Goodwill), Thomas Isbister, and Shaun Malloch they worked to capture her innocent vocals and songs in a manner which brings together lots of different styles.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Ozone
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Ozone is the latest single from Wellington-based band Corduroy., and is taken from their forthcoming EP, Halftime Oranges.
Read More...
Mim Jensen - Single Review: Germaphobe
11 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut single from Otautahi artist Mim Jensen, and a load of fun it is too. It commences with jangly guitar and Mim’s vocals, and soon we are taken into commercial indie rock which has definite nods back to the likes of Fur Patrol.
Read More...
Moone - Single Review: I Am Who I Am
10 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are some people who come into this world and put the rest of us to shame as to what they achieve, and undoubtedly one of those was Eva McGauley, who at the age of 15 was diagnosed with terminal cancer, to which she succumbed a little more than 3 years later. Eva was involved with the Wellington Rape Crisis Organisation, was an intern with the Green Party, ran her own charity 'Eva's Wish' raising more than $70,000 to help sexual abused survivors, was involved in the '200 Women Who will change the way you see the world' book and exhibition and was nominated for Youth Wellingtonian of the year award, among others.
Read More...
Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem