27 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Eurenza - EP Review: Good Luck... You're Gonna Need It

19 Oct 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Eurenza were originally formed seven years ago as Timeless, but eventually decided to go with a more uncommon name, and now have delivered their first five-track EP. Interestingly, much of this was recorded some time ago in preparation for an album, but they instead decided to go with the strongest tracks instead and cut it back. Only the lead guitar was recorded in 2021, with the bass recoded as long ago as 2018. Mind you, even that isn’t long enough to go back to where this music has its roots, as what we have here is music from the beginning of thrash, just as it was coming out of NWOBHM. There is no doubt they have been heavily influenced by early Metallica and Exodus (in particular), but they sound more as if they are being influenced by the same bands that influenced those acts, such as Diamond Head and Blitzkrieg.

There is that rough and raw approach, when volume and balls were as important as speed, just as metal was starting to subdivide and no-one knew just what was going to happen moving forward. It is on songs such as Life and Death, where they inject more energy and passion, that this band really comes alive, and one can easily imagine them on the same bill as Just One Fix ensuring all the local metalheads give themselves neck ache. This is fast and powerful, yet also with some nice guitar harmonies, while there are some additional overlays and melodic changes within this that really makes the listener pay close attention.

Strangely, the opener King of Kings is by far the slowest song on the EP, and to my ears is not the best reflection of the band. It is probably their heaviest, and certainly the most Metallica influenced number on the EP, yet is probably my least favourite. However, when NWOBHM hit in 1979 I was 16 years old, so I literally cut my metal teeth on the genre, with my first ever metal band being Tygers of Pan Tang when they supported Saxon, and I was soon out again to see Budgie and Vardis and every other metal band I could. This means I played this EP with a massive smile on my face, as songs like Die For No Man took me back to a time when metal was a simpler beast in many ways, and these guys have perfectly nailed it. If you want that early thrash sound, but delivered with modern production, then this is something you need to discover. Play loud.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Eurenza

Eurenza is a 4-piece metal band based in Auckland.

Eurenza stands out from the crowd with their unique, modern spin on the old-school Thrash of the 80's. Eurenza seeks to bring the neck-snapping energy back to the masses with their undying passion for playing faster, louder, and heavier with each song.

Eurenza entered the studio to begin forging their sound with a selection of original songs. By September of 2021, an incredibly strong 5 track EP was unleashed on the world – Good Luck… You’re Gonna Need It.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Eurenza

Releases

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem