6 Oct 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stewart Allan - Album Review: 9 Rooms

18 Oct 2021 // A review by Roger Bowie

Oh my goodness, how many more hidden talents do we have in this lockdown land?

Stewart Allan has been a musician for over 20 years and first made a name for himself in a forest in Poland before the wall came down. Like Robin Hood. He also appeared at Ellerslie Racecourse in 1986, not for the races, but for royalty.

And now he has released his co-called debut album, which is actually his second, which is almost legendary in terms of scarcity. But that’s because he went back to school to learn more about music and stayed there, as a teacher, and as a composer/arranger. So just because you haven’t heard of him doesn’t mean you haven’t heard him, in orchestra, choir and choral works.

9 Rooms is his concept album, but think in terms of Jeremy Redmore, Thomas Oliver and Graeme James. Thinking persons’ musicians. Existential poets. Orchestrators. Conductors. And glorious falsettos. Jon Anderson vocals. Spatial guitar in this instance from Arli Liberman and mysticism from Stewart himself on sitar.

Progressive pop, 9 Rooms covers nine experiences in various locations which reflect key life moments. Existential. Philosophical. Some of the rooms are quite dark, missiles to the moon, or Rocks Against Bullets, when you’re dying to be free; yet the music casts light through the window, like dappled sun finding its way through a Titirangi canopy.

Another aspect of the rooms is the pervasive metaphor of journey. And other worlds as metaphor for our problems on earth. The room is not a prison as much as a memory, and a place, a launchpad from which to escape to halcyon days, or a better future. Help us make sense of the place we are on by Chasing Stars In Paradise.

Or Shall We Dance, with a videoed kaleidoscope of improvised dance from around the world. Connections. Connected. Stewart Allan is connected to the world through music. Flying on Silver Wings, saying goodbyes to past rooms of his life, taking a magic carpet ride to a better place, where there are no endings, only beginnings. And so, while lyrically there is a sense of sadness and longing and despair, musically there is an optimistic pathway out of and away from the claustrophobic chamber. Play this music loud on a sunny afternoon. Use your voice as a loaded gun. To welcome the New Moon.

And When We Say Goodbye to the ninth room, there’s an uplifting finality. Even goodbye moments are perfect.

Stewart Allan is worldly wise, but is not promising us an easy way out of the mess we are in. Except through the music. The music is the muse.

9 Rooms. Gorgeous little album. Check it out

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Stewart Allan

Stewart Allan is a singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist from Aotearoa, New Zealand.

From singing behind the Iron Curtain, touring Japan and New Zealand as well as directing and writing music for stage and screen, he sings, plays guitar, piano and sitar.

Stewart began his career with a performance of an original song Younger Days for Queen Elizabeth II at the Ellerslie Racecourse as part of her NZ tour in 1986.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stewart Allan

Releases

9 Rooms
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Roger Bowie

Miller Yule - Album Review: Let It Burn
29 Sep 2022 // by Roger Bowie
You can tell by the name, can’t you, you can just tell. I mean, Dwight Yoakam couldn’t be anything but a country singer, could he?
Read More...
Gig Review: Looking for Alaska w/ Chris Dent @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 22/09/2022
24 Sep 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Here we are on a cool, wet spring night, but as always, it’s warm inside the Wine Cellar. In The Shallows were originally on this bill but have been plagued by some ill health and we can guess what that might be, so instead Looking for Alaska step up and, no surprise, invite their old mate Chris Dent (Albi) along to open the show.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Slow Burn
15 Sep 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Mel Parsons’ 5th album is out today, September 16 and it’s been a Slow Burn, a journey of highs and lows as the world of lockdown and locked out intervened in thousands of creative processes sometimes positively other times depressingly and if nothing else this record is a reflection of these times. The opening track, Lights “when the lights can’t always be on, you can’t expect that I’ll always be strong” captures the malaise which follows a pandemic, and the dark flavour and nuance of the songs on Slow Burn often conflate the sense of generic, world melancholy with deep personal issues.
Read More...
Marlon Williams - Album Review: My Boy
06 Sep 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Shit, Marlon’s gone poppy. Not just My Boy.
Read More...
Come Together: David Bowie's Ziggy Stardust @ Kiri Te Kanawa Theatre, Aotea Centre, Auckland - 20/08/2022
21 Aug 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Here we are, back in 1972, the year when if you hadn’t heard of David Bowie before, then wham!... an indelible stamp of wonder and amazement and disbelief is delivered to your consciousness for the next 50 years if not forever.
Read More...
Brookes & Johnstone - Album Review: When Summer Calls, Break Down the Walls
16 Aug 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Brookes & Johnstone sound like a pharmaceutical company, or a high street tailor with a side in patent leather shoes. But they are not.
Read More...
Jodi Vaughan - Album Review: For The Love of Country
05 Aug 2022 // by Roger Bowie
The moment Tennessee Dancing strikes up, we know we are in a deep country space. Somewhere just out of Nashville, maybe a famous farm, maybe an even more famous figure, but actually, no, fooled you, we’re in the country alright, but close to home, in our very own Waikato country.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Album Review: Tug of War
12 Jul 2022 // by Roger Bowie
Jenny Mitchell releases her third album on July 22nd. It’s Tug of War, a collection of sweet songs which see Jenny wear her heart on her sleeve and talk about all the pushes and pulls of a still young life where “things don’t always work out the way they do in your mind”.
Read More...
View All Articles By Roger Bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SUPER FREAKY GIRL
    Nicki Minaj
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
  • B.O.T.A. (BADDEST OF THEM ALL)
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem