22 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Michael Llewellyn - Album Review: Oh My Darling

14 Oct 2021 // A review by Darryl Baser

Even though the press for Michael Llewellyn’s Oh My Darling album describe it as "a break up album in its purest", it seems he may have worked through some of the heartache and misery by the time he recorded it.

It begins with the up-tempo Doolie, which sounds like a new romance beginning, full of love and hope. Another Guy follows, and it is definitely a break up song; the protagonist has been left for someone else, and is pissed off about it, describing the successful suitor as a "mother fucker".

The recording and performances are sumptuous, and the whole album has a peaceful easy feeling, which puts the listener at ease.

Llewellyn has a gift for writing pop songs, each tune is well composed, obeying every rule of traditional pop composition. I can really hear Whangamata being played at beach parties over summer.

Lover brings the tempo down as he describes the memory of looking into his lover’s eyes. It is more pronounced on this track, but throughout the album is sounds like he’s recorded his softly spoken vocals with a decent microphone using ASMR (Autonomous sensory meridian response) techniques, designed to send shivers up a person’s spine.

Interlude is exactly that, a short collection of found sound; bird song, walking and beach sounds.

In the album’s press Michael Llewellyn says he’s influenced by Leonard Cohen and the Velvet Underground, and it really shows on the last tune Lady Bug, especially in spoken word prose, practically narrating the song, instead of singing it.

Oh My Darling is due to come out, with links on Soundcloud due to go live on October 8th, and he’s due to hit the road across the north island from October 30 to November 13.

There are some real moments on this album, but it doesn’t grab me over all. While he can sing in tune, I wouldn’t write home about his overall strength of presence.              

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Michael Llewellyn

Soft & raspy, poetic & bouncy, Michael Llewellyn is a Poneke based songwriter contrived primarily from butterscotch and smoke. With his debut album Oh My Darling set to be released later this year. Michael Llewellyn has been gently building. After a couple of years based in Taranaki, tracking demos and dancing with a broken body he’s now set up in Poneke. Inspired by the likes of Lou Reed and Leonard Cohen his music is vulnerable and honest. Carried by an infectious groove, crunchy guitars and gritty vocals, Michael Llewellyn along with his five piece backing band packs a punch.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Michael Llewellyn

Releases

Oh My Darling
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

The New Things - EP Review: Pink Chocolate
20 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
If I had to sum up The New Things four-song EP Pink Chocolate in two words they would be ‘perfectly imperfect’. The New Things are Tina McIvor and Jason Tamihana-Bryce, both have been around the indie music scene for a number of years separately and together; touring Japan a few years back.
Read More...
Tony Jacob - Single Review: Just One Step
11 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
The 2021 released single Just One Step by Tony Jacob is a sumptuously produced song, with lyrics and a very positive vibe. "You can move on mountains with just one step, you could take the world on with no regrets..
Read More...
This Little Badge - Single Review: Think of A Number
01 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Think of A Number is the first of a series of seven singles being released by This Little Badge, a project led by Dave Pope. This song is an upbeat little number, based around the house lyrical phrase "think of a number", with the title line being repeated for the chorus.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: X
11 Mar 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington based songwriter David Sutton has been regularly releasing albums of his original songs for a good few years now. This year he’s changed tack a bit and released a covers album.
Read More...
Tryonics - Single Review: Hey
08 Feb 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. And that’s about there is to know about Tryonics, apart from a growing catalogue of tunes.
Read More...
Nigel Parry - Single Review: One Word War
02 Dec 2021 // by Darryl Baser
“Me job to pick off the Hun, In the sights a lad like me, One shot, and I’m alone;” just a few of the lines of this stunning, beautiful and at times harrowing poem based on Nigel Parry’s family history of relations serving in World War I. 7:56 is typically too long for a single, Queen found that out when they first tried to release Bohemian Rhapsody.
Read More...
Aidan Ripley - Single Review: Let Us Bloom
24 Nov 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Teenage singer-songwriter Aidan Ripley released his new single Let Us Bloom on all platforms October 2021. The song is a stripped back acoustic guitar song which sounds like a solo love ballad, until Ripley’s partner Caspian Wilder adds her voice.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem